Perfect Healthy Halloween Treat: Gooey Caramel Apples (Vegan, Gluten-Free, + No Processed Sugars!) ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

How-do-ya like 'dem apples? Halloween is coming, the season of sugar coated treats by the sack! What about our kids? What if we don't want to feed them tons of high sugared candies but don't want to ruin their fun? I have an idea for you!

๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ

Who doesn't love caramel apples? OK, so maybe you don't like breaking your teeth on 'em... I completely get you there and so, you will be delighted by this easy to make and even easier to eat play on the traditional treat that I morphed into a smooshy caramel apple just in time for the world's biggest treat-advocating holiday!


IMG_7754.JPG


Halloween is a nightmare! Ir really is scary!๐Ÿ‘ป The whole idea is for kids to go door to door with huge pillowcases, asking for (* generally unhealthy*) treats from their neighbours. Holy sugar! With processed sugars already in so much of our kids' foods, this day can be a cause of complete mayhem for conscious parents. I remember when I was younger, I used to go collect my candy but then surrender it to my momma at the end for her to bring into work to share with her coworkers's kids. I would choose a couple of chocolate bars and give the rest away! I didn't like any of the junk I was getting, I preferred fruits, even back then but loved to go out with my friends and dress up and I always felt wonderful about being able to share my collection with others... I was what my mom always referred to as 'a weird child.'

One of the treats that really stood out to me was the candy apples at the fairs and circuses and especially Halloween! I would see the packages for the caramel come out around this time in the grocery stores and always ask my mom if we could get some!

She caved and bought me the mix once and its sticky yet hard outer layer was brutal on my teeth, so much so that I didn't end up wanting it after all! Might as well have just rammed my teeth into a wall! What the heck kind of idea is it to put that hard, impossible to penetrate layer on the edge of something that is designed to make you want to eat it so bad? Not a fan.

However, I know that the flavors are yummmmmy together so I decided that I should make something fun and delicious with the flavours that is kid friendly and a healthy alternative to what they are probably going to be given when they go out knocking this year! What do you guys think? Sound good to you or what? :)

Basically this is caramel apple meets apple crisp, alright? Double whammy of apple-y yum-time and a perfect treat to send with them if they are having a bake sale at school (or you know, to just eat on your own, whenever!)

๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ


What you need:


** Gooey Caramel**

  • 2/3 cup cacao butter (melted)
  • 1/2 cup coconut nectar
  • 1 tbs maca root powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Apple Bites

  • 1 1/2 cup apples
  • 1 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/4 cup caramel
  • 1/4 cup almonds (these were added on as an afterthought after the picture was taken!)
  • 1/4 cup bananas (these were added on as an afterthought after the picture was taken!)
  • 2 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla

๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ


IMG_7694 (2).JPG


๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ


What to do:

We need to make the caramel first so we can throw it into the appley-yumness mix!

  • Melt the cacao butter
  • Add melted cacao, coconut nectar, maca root and vanilla together and mix into a cream.

IMG_7699.JPG


(I added the cold coconut nectar from the fridge into my warm cacao butter which made it thick like you see here, giving it that gooey-like texture that seems more Halloween-y than just liquid!) ๐Ÿ˜‰


  • Add all base ingredients together in a food processor and pulse

IMG_7695 (2).JPG


  • After everything is mixed, form into small, bite sized balls in your hands! Kids will have a blast with this part! You can get creative and make them into critters if you want!

IMG_7697 (2).JPG


Now that you've got some cute, bite-able apple crisp balls, top with your caramel and sprinkle with cinnamon!


IMG_7702.JPG


Note: My caramel is hardened because I had that cold vs warm mixture situation but the caramel was runny before that. If you put it in the fridge, like I did for these, they will harden up and the coating will become a shell, just like a caramel apple! If your caramel is liquid, you'll be able to dip them in and coat the entire ball which will harden when cold so you can get a real, crunchy outside! Personally, I thought the gooey option was fun and playful of the mood that is Halloween!

๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ


IMG_7748.JPG


I was having a fun time with these little numbers because I had friends that wanted to eat them so, we have multiple different shots as they model my various plates and wear my beautiful flowers from the garden (just like a costume party!) We've got so much sweet going on from natural sources that there is no need for the candy bars! These bites are kid approved and I hope you make some with your little ones or even just for yourself not only for this fun-filled holiday as they are magic any day!

๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ


IMG_7779.JPG


๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ‘ป๐ŸŽƒ
Happy Halloween Steemians!
Sending you love through (plant-based/vegan) food, as always! If you are new here, it's great to have you here!
I am obsessed with food as you'll surely see, and I am a strong believer in the power it has within it, and the ability it has to heal us! I aim to inspire through my recipes and posts and hope to connect with you here, through your heart. Some say the way to the heart is through the stomach, I 100% agree with that theory ;)
I believe in sharing what makes the heart happy, if you'd like to see more, come on by @heart-to-heart!๐Ÿ˜˜

Here is my latest recipe of some super yummy, 3 layer, chocolate, coconut bliss nicecream bars! Also a great alternative to give the kiddies instead of the wrapped versions from the freezer section! See the recipe by clicking here!


IMG_0991.JPG


Until next time, love what you eat, eat what loves you back!
XO,
๐Ÿ˜˜
hearttoheart signature.png
HeartToTable Logo2-2.jpg
heart 2 heartCollage.jpg

Sort: ย 

It is always good to be vegan. Nice post @heart-to-heart

It is always good to be vegan. Nice post @heart-to-heart

Hi @munawar1235 I love sharing healthy and vegan recipes here with our amazing Steemit family! Happy to hear you liked it! I have plenty more where this came from! <3

very important post all everyone look

nice food pic

I have just started to be Vegan. It is deffinately an adjustment.

Oh really? I know it can be a bit of a challenge for sure but there are so many great alternatives now! I post recipes all of the time and have been a vegan foodie for some time now. I make sure to show everyone how fun and delicious eating vegan can be! I wish you the best in your journey =D I have fallen in love with this new way of eating, I hope you do too!

Hello Sweet Heart! My first upvote to you and first comment... Very nice foodie :)

Aww thank you! <3 Welcome to Steemit my friend! <3 Sending you a big welcome hug!

Thanks a lot, friend... For now, I'm studying the platform before I make my introduction post. :) Nice Day to you Heart.

I did the same thing! I ended up learning so much I wrote guides haha <3 Best of luck to you, let me know if you need anything or have any questions I can help with! =D

Mouthwatering.These look really delicious!

These are really yummy! I'll have to send you some virtually ;)

Oh! I would love to have them. ๐Ÿ˜

OK, I will start working on that transportation device straight away ;)

Lovely and sweet

vegan is the future.

vegan is the future.

I definitely agree with that! There are many studies showing the benefits on a larger effect for sure! I am hoping to spread some inspiration through my yummy recipes :)

I definitely agree with that! There are many studies showing the benefits on a larger effect for sure! I am hoping to spread some inspiration through my yummy recipes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84