TASTY TRAVEL TUESDAY - TURKEY BLUE CHEESE BALSAMIC BUTTERNUT SQUASH STROMBOLI - 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Are your taste buds packed and ready for an exotic trip?!!

On my TASTY TRAVEL TUESDAY series, I like to take you guys some place exciting. For example, last week we went to CHILE. Well, I had the idea for Stromboli before I realized where it's origins were, turns out, we're traveling to Essington Pennsylvania, just outside Philly. According to wikipedia, back in 1950, Nazzareno Romano started it. SOURCE

Parts of Philly (Philadelphia) can certainly be exotic, but I was hoping for somewhere in the Mediterranean. I think it is rather funny.

I’m pretty sure this is the first stromboli I’ve ever made. Not 100% because it feels like I’ve made about 183 bajllion different things at this point in my life as a food blogger. Ha, and it’s been such a busy week that I’ve already forgotten what I made a few days ago. So yes, there is a definite possibility that I have made one in the past and I simply don’t remember. For all that it matters though, I’m gonna go with saying this is my first one.

It would work as an appetizer if cut into small portions or it can be a main course. Also, you can use a different kind of squash or even cubed sweet potatoes for the filling if you want. It’s much simpler to make then you might think and everyone in my crew that likes these flavors enough to have tried it said I really need to do more stomboli. I think you do too. I thought this was a fun change from your typical pizza but close enough to be a sure thing.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.

RECIPE

Prep Time: 50 minutes

Cook Time: 55 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour, 45 minutes

Ingredients

Crust:
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
2 talespoons sugar
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 1/2 - 4 cups all-purpose flour
corn flour for pan (optional)
1 egg + 2 tablespoons water

Filling:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium red onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups fresh butternut squash, peeled and cut into cubes
2 tablespoons fresh rosemary leaves, finely chopped
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 cup sour cream
4 ounces blue cheese, crumbled
8 ounces sliced deli turkey

Instructions

A. Stir water, milk, sugar, and yeast together until yeast is dissolved and allow to sit for about 5 minutes. Pour into a large mixing bowl and whisk in salt and oil until combined. Add the all purpose flour and mix until dough comes together. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for a few minutes, adding a bit more flour until the dough pulls away from the surface. It should be smooth and resilient. Place in oiled bowl and cover, then place in warm place to rise until doubled in size.
B. While dough rises, make the filling. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat and add onions, garlic, butternut squash, and rosemary. Cook for 7 to 8 minutes, stirring often, until the squash is softened and the onions are translucent. Add the nutmeg, balsamic, and cream to the pan, then reduce heat to low and continue stirring for 2 to 3 minutes until the sauce has thickened a little. Season with salt and pepper to taste then remove from heat and set pan aside.
C. Once dough is ready, preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200C) and dust a large baking pan with flour or corn flour.. Roll dough out into a rectangle that's roughly 1/8 inch thick and place on a piece on parchment. Scrape the filling mixture out onto the dough and spread evenly over the whole thing, Sprinkle the blue cheese as evenly as you can then lay out the turkey slices on top of everything, spacing them evenly. Now fold in the two long sides over the filling to wrap it and make the stromboli shape. Turn the stromboli over so that the crease is on the bottom and tuck the two open ends underneath.
D. Use a sharp knife to make some slits across the top then whisk together your egg and water and brush it onto the top and on the sides. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes until the edges are a deep golden brown then remove from oven and cool for at least 5 minutes before slicing and serving.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.78 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It looks very appetizing !!!)

Just the filling, all by itself, looks and sounds pretty great! I think I would just eat that. But the stromboli part makes it more like a party, lol. Nice cooking and photo work, as always!

Your comments are always thoughtful and full of encouragement. Thanks so much for your continued support - STEEM ON!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85