Laab Muang Paew Restaurant - Chiang Mai: decent, but don't go out of your way

in #food5 years ago

This place is a relatively typical restaurant with a few unusual items on the menu that I wasn't really willing to try because it was too strange. It is located just outside the moat (as many cheaper restaurants tend to be due the the rent dropping dramatically about 100 meters out of "downtown") and I would say that it was pretty good, but there isn't really any particular reason to go out here just to eat at this place.

53160519_812900295709210_5540437649254252544_n.jpg

The menu does have English on it and for the most part is understandable although sometimes the translations are just nonsense. It seems as though they simply used Google Translate because like many languages, certain things don't really translate because the name of them is a colloquial term anyway (think "lava cake" or "devils food cake," for example.) Thankfully most dishes are accompanied by photos to help you understand what things like "three stories tall fried pork" can possibly mean.

53236138_2348348785402657_4949014519381753856_n.jpg
this is "three-stories-tall fried pork

There is plenty of seating here but myself and my friend both work online so we don't usually stick to traditional dining times so we were the only people there when we arrived.

53076487_559839834514457_5717744486327517184_n.jpg

The place started to fill up as we were getting our bill and the crowd comprised entirely of Thai people, which is always a good sign.

They seem to focus, as many places do, primarily on seafood, which is very popular with Thais and well, people all over the world right. My friend decided to get a whole fish and it was just massive.

53036271_636230206826691_3180607506720227328_n.jpg

Neither of these things are terribly unusual but we weren't looking to be adventurous, but rather just get something quick to eat before heading back to work. Although they hadn't yet turned them on (waiting for later in the evening) their mainstay seems to be the clay pots of various delicacies on display in the front where customers are actually invited to come and take a look or a smell.

53292248_389104478307414_4025540007497302016_n.jpg

As I said in the title, I don't really think that this place is special enough to warrant taking a taxi to, but if you happen to be staying near the north-east corner of the moat anyway (and there is a lot of the city's more affordable accommodation up there also) I think that going here for dinner one night would be a good choice.

location including GPS coords
This establishment has no published online information nor can you find them searching for their name in a search engine. I guess they are old school and I think that is kind of cool.
nearby landmark

Sort:  

This seems to be a complete traditional Thai restaurant and since there is no English description of their foods proves to that fact also. The food serve in this restaurant are mainly thai foods but I still finds there meal to be highly rich and delicious also

Google Translate is my favorite tool. And, yes, it does not work well in all cases. I had a major problem translating from English to Korean recently. I really enjoy posts like this. I have so many places that I would like to go and visit, doubt I will make it to everything on my list. Thanks for sharing @gooddream.

What is three stories fried pork? Trying to work it out. I would definitely give this place a test out as I like the clay pot idea. The city offers so much in different types of dishes and food you could never get bored.

This type of food is very common in my country, fried pork, it is eaten with potatoes, arepas and plantain, but it can be used in stews for typical foods. That you enjoy your walk, I congratulate you because you are always active in steemit.
Good vibes.

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

a very good restaurant for me to visit

Very interesting. The "three stories tall fried pork" looks a lot like a deconstructed BLT. What is the sauce that they have next to it? The fish looks very good. The clay pots look really interesting too. I wonder what kind of exotic goodness they serve out of those. Thanks for sharing this even if it wasn't a "stand out" place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75