I love sashimi, but not the portions

in #food6 years ago

I not really a fan of all types of it, some if it is visually unappealing to me and well, gross in my opinion. However, the mainstream stuff like tuna and salmon are just incredible. The problem I have with it is that even if you order a lot of it, it is never enough.

49384498_390002744903764_4885368000317751296_n.jpg
just like with cereal, this has been enlarged to show texture

This little plate of glorious deliciousness cost me near ly 400B. Granted I was at an airport and everything is overpriced there but even away from an airport this sort of stuff is generally speaking, very expensive. I have been to places that were cheaper but since we are dealing with uncooked meat here, there is always the fear of becoming horribly horribly ill in the attempt to save money.

I think that a bit part of what I enjoy so much about it is largely dependent on the wasabi / soy mix. I want it to have so much wasabi that you actually need a technique to eat it without choking. I mean, i really enjoy that very special sensation that it seems only wasabi is capable of delivering. I don't know if that makes any sense but to people who enjoy sushi / sashimi maybe you understand what I am talking about.

50458246_2341417992753080_3993120769713373184_n.jpg

This "snack" was meant to be a meal and it took place at a Fuji restaurant in the Don Muang airport in Bangkok. It was delightful as I mixed the soy / wasabi mix just perfectly. It was a little bit of a pain because they had slick chopsticks and even though I am quite talented with the ol' ตะเกียบ i found it really difficult to pick the pieces up. It would be a tragedy to drop one seeing as how there are so few of them.

I have heard about these places that have buffets for this type of thing, but i have a hard time believing that the quality of the meat would be on par with those that you pay for by the plate. My search will begin for such a place and even though I fully plan on it being expensive, it will be something I go to to celebrate, I can not afford to be a regular.

Years ago I turned my nose up at the idea of eating this stuff and if you are one of the people out there that avoids it for the same reason, I highly suggest that you go eat at such a place with someone that is experienced in the process. It is truly one of the most special things to eat on the planet, but if you don't know what you are doing it could end up being quite nasty.

PS> After i had this meal i had to go get a BK double cheeseburger because it wasn't near enough food.

Sort:  

Ok that looks reeeeeally good but it's a bit too small.
I think I will have to try sushi in Bangkok during my next trip. Last time I didn't want to eat sushi there not because I don't like it but because of how they stored raw meat, hanging there without proper cooling ... for their stomachs that's ok but for our stomachs it would be the end xD

It has never appealed to me I love my fish and meat but have never had sushi or sashimi. I will one day when I am in the right country for it.

Oh! No! After the raw fish, you went for double cheeseburger!! Poor stomach! He would have a confusing headache!

Wasabi can be so cruel sometimes! LoL

Posted using Partiko iOS

This food looks very tasty but can I eat by bread?

Apologize, but that's totally gross!

yeah, that wouldn't be good and it would be a very expensive sandwich :)

Yummmy Pieces of meat that are not required to be thick or raw, covering appetizers such as shredded radish without sushi rice, and dealing with soy sauce or wasabi paste or citrus sauce made of soy sauce, lemon juice and rice vinegar

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The food looks attractive.

Lol 400b! 400 billion dollars :p? Just messin, i know your in Don Muang. Food looks very colorful and of high standards, like it came from a gourmet type restaurant. I've never been to that type of restuarants, but I heared its like really well served food. One day.. And dang you wasabi maniac lolol!, you want it choking you, :p without proper technique of course. It sucks that it couldn't even fill you up, yet you paid so much for it.

sashimi fan here..

I think the texture is the one that needs getting used to, for first time eaters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88