Popular Yoruba Soup- Efo riro diversified: GloGlo foods.

in #food7 years ago

Yay!!! Its Friyay!!!. I don't know if anyone is as excited as I am but all the same I wish everyone a happy weekend. Without much ado I would like to introduce to you a little about another branch of me. The food part!! yes... I love good food and with time GloGlo foods will be bringing to you some exciting food tutorials, recipes and all that have to do with food!!!

You are welcome to Gloglo foods today. This is the first time of me doing something about food and am glad I had the courage to do little today. My initial plan before my full time on steemit was to make contents on food and other aspect of what am good at. I have not been able to do some post on foods and recipes because of some constrains and so it has held me back some how, coupled with this phobia of not sure if I will get a good camera, video or picture.

Well well well, to cut the story short I woke up this morning and was inspired to get what I had today and share with all of you and also maybe start this little with some of my ideas about some African dish. Although this is the first but I had to break that fear and just do something today.

Efo riro

Efo riro Efo Riro is a rich vegetable soup that is native to the Yorubas of Western Nigeria. The vegetables that can be used to cook this soup are Efo Shoko or Efo Tete (Green Amaranth). If these are not readily available where you live, leafy or frozen spinach is a very good substitute.
Read more at http://www.allnigerianrecipes.com/soups/efo-riro.html#C5YJJsYsLtKzxscE.99

It is popularly used to eat any staple food, be it rice, fufu, semovita, wheat or eba depending on your choice. It is highly nutritious and delicious

The change

20171012_104818.jpg

efo sauce

Today I made a little deviation from what is already been and changed the ball game entirely. I made what I call efo sauce and this time around serving with boiled yam.

Ingredients

  • green amaranth
  • scent leaves
  • crayfish
  • pomo
  • ball pepper
  • tomatoes
  • onions
  • red oil
  • seasoning cubes
  • salt to taste

It can be served as brunch, lunch or dinner depending on the time you feel like eating this meal. It is true that most times people eat efo riro with swallows (eba, wheat, semo and the likes) but then I had to experiment some thing different and trust me it can out fine and delicious. I call this one efo sauce because it is less bulky and stewy than the familiar efo riro accompanied with swallow foods.

Changing the game: Efo riro into sauce with boiled yam!

I had boiled yam accompany efo! It came out really nice and the reason I did this was to change the game a bit and be more diversified with food. So due to our efo is accompanying boiled yam I decided to make it simpler with more vegetable and less stewy unlike our normal efo riro used in eating eba, fufu and the rest. Stay tuned as more photos come your way.

20171012_105039.jpg

efo sauce and boiled yam.

IMG_20171012_133848.jpg

food is ready!

IMG_20171012_134014.jpg

20171012_104818.jpg

I hope you try this and get the experience of eating efo sauce and boiled yam.

please kindly leave your comment and tell us what you think about this meal, if you've had it before, tell us the experience. Thank you for having me and I hope you like it. More will be coming your way on Gloglo Foods! Happy viewing and have a wonderful and fun filled week end.

Please expect my post where I will give you full details of what GloGlo foods is all about and what it will be doing on this platform

First Image credit: GOOGLE

Other photos: BY ME.

generic.gif

Sort:  

Incredible one. Now, how will I be getting some of that meal

hahah... well you can employ me to make them...lol. All the same you can always check in to get more recipes at Gloglo foods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29