Fantastic Ribs for Dinner and Reminiscing about Posts Gone By

in #food6 years ago

On Friday night, my wife and I were deciding what to do for dinner. She reminded me that there was a new BBQ restaurant up the road Big Bone BBQ that I had commented that I'd like to go to. No sooner had the words come out of her mouth, we were in the car heading for some delicious food.


Big Bone BBQ

As many know, I enjoy cooking on my Big Green Egg. Most times, when I go out to dinner, I will avoid having BBQ because I can usually prepare the meat better than the restaurant. This was not the case that night.

The Place


Big Bone BBQ is a chain in Ontario, Canada that is trying to bring Southern BBQ (think Southern US, i.e. Texas BBQ) to our Northern taste-buds. They currently have 9 restaurants around the province. The location in Ottawa was opened less than a year ago.

TheRestaurant.jpg

The interior of the restaurant is just what I wanted to see. Functional tables and chairs with no gimmicks. We are here for the food, not the bling. The place wasn't too busy, but there was a steady flow of TakeOut. The minute we walked in the door, the wonderful smell of slow smoking meat permeated our nostrils. I knew at that very moment, I'd be back again.

The Menu


The Menu

I saw what I was hoping to see on the menu... brisket, pulled pork, ribs and chicken wings. The usual sides of beans, coleslaw, cornbread and fries were all available. Everything else was just gravy.

The Food


MyDinner.JPG
Presented as Served *

This is how my meal was served (I was too hungry to remember to take a picture of my wifes pulled pork stuffed potato skins). I had ordered the Mini Combo - 3 Bones of ribs and 1/2lb for Chicken Wings. For the Chicken Wings, I'd asked for jerk sauce - they correctly served it on the side.
The wings were marinated for 2 days, then smoked for over 4 hours. I wanted to taste the smoke and the meat, so I was very happy they hadn't smothered that spectacular flavour in the jerk sauce. I was more than capable to dip the wings if I so desired. (It was fabulous though).
All of the sauces, the beans and the coleslaw were made on site. The beans had some smoky flavour as well so I assume they prepared them in a dutch oven in the smoker, but I couldn't see around that corner. Nor did I spend much time looking as I was too busy savouring every last bite.

Conclusion


This was the best BBQ I have tasted North of Texas. They nailed it. The music in the background fit the room, the smell, the taste. All exactly what I was looking for. I will be going back - OFTEN.

I give it 4.5 Pineapple Piggies out of 5


* - Reminiscing about Posts Gone By

When I took the picture of my meal. I knew that the wings were hidden under the ribs and that the salad was at the front taking the focus of the shot. But it reminded me of when I first started on Steemit about 2 years ago. I remembered the Taco Tour posts by @pfunk and specifically remember "Presented as served". He always found the best looking taco joints with fantastic food at fantastic prices. And for some reason, that photo gave me a flashback of his posts.

Here's a link to the post that I believe I was recalling. Mi Ama

That thought took me further down the rabbit hole to remembering Big Foot and Rock. If you don't know who Big Foot and Rock are, then dig deep into the archives from @papa-pepper. Way, way back, you will find this TheLast BigFoot #1


Final Thought


As you can tell from this post, I would highly recommend that anyone who comes to visit Ontario, Canada, check out Big Bone BBQ's website to see if there is a restaurant near you!. Then I was wondering if anyone has any ideas about how to use the steemit blockchain for easily searchable travel recommendations. Just think ... recommendations like you find on expedia, but you get rewarded for them.

Sort:  

Great post and thank you for including the menu. The food looks wonderful and the prices seems fair.

Thanks @normok. The food was fantastic and well worth the price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77