A Witch in my Garden, and in the Kitchen too: "Harvest Day, Turmeric Longa"

in #food5 years ago (edited)
Harvest Sunday, these days I love it, my father went to the farm today to see how things were over there and found that the turmeric plants are already ready to be harvested, so I take advantage of taking a couple of photos of the plants, and to take one of these to bring it home, for my part I did nothing but love it more than usual, because I love turmeric, and also take pictures for me and share them with you (although he is not very good photographer here between us )



These turmeric plants were planted a little more than a year ago, and receive constant watering, in addition to not receiving direct sunlight, which I have read is one of the keys to success in obtaining good harvests of turmeric, to tell the truth we have planted on other occasions but we had not obtained plants as leafy and abundant rhizomes as on this occasion, which really makes me very happy. Unfortunately these plants haven't bloomed, some farmers in the area tell me they don't always, but I'm really looking forward to seeing those beautiful flowers at some point.



These rhizomes are widely used in Indian and Asian cuisine, and is the main ingredient for the realization of curry, this brings a delicious flavor and beautiful color to meals, in addition to having some medicinal properties that make me love it even more. It has anti-inflammatory and analgesic properties, which makes it ideal to take in infusion and counteract the annoying discomforts of premenstrual syndrome. It is bactericidal and healing, so it can also be used topically in wounds, and its use in powder has been taken even for the treatment of the skin, to avoid wrinkles and marks of the face. It is antioxidant and helps reduce bad cholesterol in the bloodstream.



We usually eat it fresh, but since this year's harvest is plentiful, I have decided to dry it and store it in hermetically sealed glass jars to keep it longer. Since they tend to dry in the fridge and use them that way, it's tedious. For this process I simply wash the rhizomes very well, with the help of a small brush, so that I can remove as much bark as possible, then dry them and proceed to grate them, spread them on a tray and let them dry in the sun.



If you wish you can dry it in the oven for about 60 minutes at about 120 °C, however I like it to be charged with the sun's energy, so I do it that way, select some rhizomes to plant them again, and with this I make sure I have provisions for next year, Really there are so many properties of this plant, and so delicious the flavor that gives my meals, I always want to have it at hand, I can use it with any type of meat, to season broths and soups, for rice is perfect because it gives flavor and color to it.



I have planned to prepare a complete marinade because Christmas is approaching and you have to prepare the hallacas, and this gives a unique and delicious flavor, and thanks to turmeric is not necessary to use processed condiments, which makes our food much healthier, which translates into a healthy life in the same way. By the way, if you didn't notice, turmeric is an infallible dye, in fact it is used to paint some fabrics, for a next opportunity I think I will have to use gloves hahaha.



We do not always harvest what we want, but if we take care of what we plant we will get a good harvest!





Images of my property, taken with the lens of my iPhone 4S and 5S, without edition.




Resources consulted
  • Source 1
  • Source 2
















    @SM-Spanish Community Discord )




    Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses



    Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses

    @Repollo Discord
    @Templo Discord
    @Steem-ua Discord
    @Steemmonsters Discord


    Join @upmewhale's Discord





    A proud member of



    Sort:  

    I've always want to be able to grow turmeric! It's so good for you!

    I never tried to grow tumeric before, but now I want to. I heard it is great for liver. I wonder if it will grow in my region which is temperate.

    My tumeric is in a little tiny orange capsule and tastes terrible @fmbs25. 😾 I like yours better! 😁

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Oh I see a lot of these at our local market but never tried using them in cooking. Still it is pretty awesome to grow your own tumeric there.

    Wow that is a lot. I don’t think I ever cook with that stuff. Nice to see the processes of you collecting and drying it out.

    That does look like a decent dye judging by what it did to your hands :)

    Give it a try someday, you won't regret

    Growing your own turmeric... VERY cool!!

    💃😍😎😍💃👍🙏👍💃😍😎😍💃

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Thanks for sharing!

    Hi, @fmbs25!

    You just got a 0.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
    To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
    If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

    Hi @fmbs25, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


    Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

    20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

    JOIN US ON

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.33
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.034
    BTC 66407.27
    ETH 3219.07
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.34