FireTravels #2—Photos From Traditional "Kuttanadu" Kerala Cuisine Food Tasting Event in Southern India!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

On Friday evening I was invited by my buddy @nikhilpai, a top food blogger from Southern India and co-founder of The 3 Hungry Men along with other social media influencers in my city of Mangalore, India to a great T3HM meet-up and eat-up food tasting event.

As a traveller and blogger who absolutely loves his food, I couldn't resist the offer to be there for the event. Prestige Hotel, one of the finer places for travellers to stay in my city, runs a popular restaurant known as, 'Simbly South,' and they invited us all to try their menu for their upcoming food festival and provide our valuable feedback on the same.

India is a vast country where the food and the flavours change from city to city, milestones to milestones! "Kuttanadu" cuisine is quite a popular style of Kerala cuisine originating from a place of the same name, and Kerala is often referred to as God's own country. I hope you like pictures, few details and a quick review of the cuisine.


Let's get started


(Malli Kozhi) Kerala Deep Fried chicken was absolutely delicious. Fried in coconut oil it met my expectations as the first non-vegetarian starter


Served with some crunchy bits of poppadoms on top!


(Madhura Kizhangu Peralan) Tapioca or Sweet Potates made using a traditional semi-dry masala! I found it slightly on the spicier side!


(Squid Peralan) Made using the Peralan masala similar to the dish above. Unfortunately, the catch of the day seemed a bit rubbery and didn't make the cut in my books!


(Kuttanad Kari Meen Pollichathu) Pearl Spot fish enclosed in a Banana leaf and steamed to perfection!


The mildly sour taste from the ingredients used combined with the spices thrown into the mix lent a great taste to the meat!


(Kuttanad Mutta Roast) Roasted Egg in Kuttanadu style was well balanced and quite delicious. It was a perfect combination for what was to come next!


(Kuttanad Mappas & Appam) Mutton Curry with Kerala style of an Indian bread was absolutely mouth watering. Appam was made using coconut milk and had a rich taste to it!


The mutton curry was one of the most flavourful dishes on the menu with the meat cooked to a tender perfection! I'm not the biggest fan of red-meat but this I enjoyed thoroughly.


(Kuttanad Meen Vattichathu and Kappa)The spiciest dish of the lot was this Mackerel Curry with Tapioca. This is somewhat of a traditional combination in the Kerala cuisine although the spices overpowered the delicate taste of the Tapioca in this situation!


Kuttanad Chicken Biryani with its exquisitely marinated and cooked to perfection chicken pieces filled us up quite nicely.


(Meen Manga Curry) Prawns and Mango makes a great combination. Absolutely mouth watering dish that left us all craving for more!


(Puttu of 3 varieties: Rice, Finger Millet (Ragi) and Wheat made a great combination with the Mango Prawns Curry with its superb texture. I enjoyed the Rice and Wheat variant of this Kerala Rice Cake over the Finger Millet version.

What about deserts?

Well, some of us who had any space left over in our bellies after such a sumptuous meal just ate it and we forgot to take a good picture of it!

For anyone wondering what it was, it was Mango Kheer!

I hope you enjoyed this a little glimpse of the vast Indian cuisine. My city of Mangalore has an incredibly vast and rich history in cuisine. You can expect some mouth watering pictures in the future in one of my blogs or perhaps my friend @nikhilpai will share them with you on one of his upcoming blogs!

Thank you for your attention and support!


If you like my work, please share my posts and follow my blog to support me. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. The Hands of an Artist!
  2. How Does One Get Over 500-3000 Votes Per Post on Steemit?
  3. LetsTalk—Results From Leveraging Facebook To Promote Steemit Content!
  4. Ike's 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air (B&W) Photoshoot!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Excellent Food Travel Post - I have to try some new things - Indian food is still not represented enough over here - like Thai - thanks for the outlook, can wven smell it through my browser

Thank you so much! :D See you at SF2? :)

I still hope for SF2 - usually November / December are no go for travel as the high time in our business with tons of pitching but i still hope for it - if not i will do some live streaming or maybe better work as home base for any questions related to steemit lol

Oh I see! Maybe I can meet you and other steemians from your country sooner. I hope to plan a trip to Europe sooner than SF2 if possible to just hang out a bit, travel and relax. :)

nice idea, let me know when you are where

These look all amazing! Love Indian food! Eating out tonight and you just made me decide to go to our fav Indian resto in town! Have a great day!

Thank you so much! How was your dinner? :)

Yum! We had a big dinner tonight, but your photos and descriptions made my mouth water all over again. Were you more than 20 people to eat all that food? ;-)

We were about 10-11 to eat that much and more :D

Lol - the dedication and personal application. I admire you all :-)

thank you so much! :)

20? Wouldn't go that far. Perhaps 3.

Here's a one person "meal" you will enjoy:

Oh myyyy...if only for the colour! Thank you!

Lovely pics, @firepower!

Very clean.

I have a Malayali friend that took pride in Kerala cuisine and introduced me to the "veg" side.

Boy, they surely love coconut oil!

Thanks buddy! :) Coconut oil is used a lot. Even in some Mangalorean cuisines.

Thanks alot. It all looks so delicious.

Indeed it was! Hope to visit Vietnam in the near future and try some of your cuisine too!

I love Indian food 🙏🏻😫😫😫😌

oh wow! That's great to hear! :D Have you travelled around India before?

I have been to Mumbai once for a commercial shoot but only 2 days, so I wasn't enough to enjoy all the food you have. I'm going to new Delhi next year for my cousin's wedding, I'm super hyped for that !!!!

Oh that's fantastic! Our cuisine is vast and sometimes changing from city to city, and very different state to state sometimes. I hope you have a great time when you visit Delhi! I've never been to Thailand altho I'm considering visit this year. :) I hope the Steemit userbase grows so we have more amazing people here like yourself!

That looked outrageously delicious! 😋
Nice pictures, indeed mouth watering.

Thank you! :)

I enjoyed all the photos and information about the food. Whoever took the photos did an outstanding job. Cuisine from places I don't know can be so interesting

All the dishes look divine! I'm so hungry right now!

Nice post.. India is still on my travel bucket list!
Upvoted and followed :)

You will love it! :P

come to India! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48