You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIP OR STAY HOME by Guy Malone - the growing Table of Contents to Guy's Waiter Blog on Steemit

in #food8 years ago

"Tip or stay home" is it?
Naw...I'll go to another restaurant if that's your attitude. There are a great many of them.

Sort:  

Awww you've liked plenty of my stuff already to know my work is solid and my arguments are sound, and we've done this together before already back in Chapter 4's comments so I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish by saying the exact same thing here. And you know very well by now that my "attitude" is in the frst para at the top of this page, not in the catchphrase (that I cannot take credit for anyways, it's as old as I am).
Go wherever you like but every sit-down full-service fine dining restaurant you go to will be staffed by servers who do not want you in their section or their restaurant if you won't tip. It's the same as walking into a McDonald's and the owner of that franchise won't want you there if you don't pay. The restaurant doesn't pay us and you know that already from Chapter 6 so yes PLEASE O PLEASE DO either go to another restaurant - one that has paid staff members (like McDonald's) but doesn't offer full-service dining - or be amiable about the American situation and expect to pay for services that unpaid employees deliver to you, if you don't want to stand in line and serve yourself.
The attitude of every American waitstaff is summed up nicely in the catchphrase tho no matter where you choose to go, you've just never heard it expressed from one while we're on the clock and waiting on you is all.

Oddly enough I don't really consider McDonalds to be a 'restaurant', nor any other fast food joint.
T.I.P.S. To Insure Proper Service. If I get it so do they. It's my discretion.
No one 'deserves' it, they earn it. A bonus for doing an EXCEPTIONAL job.

Again that TIPS thing is a complete misnomer - aside from Ensure/Insure proof of basic grammar that the word tip did not come from those words - and that is a discussion we - you and I - have already had in again, in Chapter 4's comments You're being intentionally redundant and dense solely for the sake of being argumentative. Why?

You don't want to converse with me?
Ok.

Not the exact same conversation we've already had, no. Apparently you don't want to consider my words either tho, you just want an excuse to say what you think. You're not even replying to my blogs, just seeing an excuse to vent your views it seems.
So anyways, I never said or used the word "deserve" and I agree with you whole-heartedly on that front. I earn every penny that I desire to be paid/tipped for the work that I do, I am not asking for charity. I never said that I or anyone "deserves" anything so why are you being so hostile? You are obviously bringing beefs you have from somewhere else, about something else, to this discussion.
You seem to be implying however that only EXCEPTIONAL service deserves any recompense tho. No, exceptional service deserves an exceptional tip. Average service deserve average tips. Bad service deserves a bad tip (10%). Zero service (like McDonalds - whom the government and the owners of the establishment consider restaurants whether you do or not - are where zero tipping is appropriate. If you think otherwise you really don't get life in America. Zero to 10% tippers deserve to be told to eat at McDonalds only and wait on themselves, or to cook at home.

Are you really this guy? Read the comments there, but I think you're arguing from the same line of reasoning as he does. http://www.bhagwad.com/blog/2013/personal/tipping-one-thousand-comments.html/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87