What's for Breakfast?

in #food6 years ago

In a conversation with @cicisaja the other day the topic of breakfast came up. I was curious to know what were common breakfast foods where she lived. (Aceh) We live about a half a world away from each other and I wasn't surprised to learn that nothing on her list would be found on a typical breakfast menu where I live! (Southern California)

Pancakes.jpg
source

If you go to a diner where I live a typical breakfast menu would include pork meats (bacon, ham, sausage), eggs (fried or scrambled), and perhaps toast, pancakes, waffles, French toast or a muffin. Some form of potato might also be offered (hash browns, country potatoes, but for some reason not baked. That's for dinner!) In the Southern states there would be grits, which I love, but not many places serve them around here. The usual beverages are coffee or tea and a choice of juices.

fried-eggs-& toast.jpeg
source

Because the Hispanic culture is strong here another popular option is the 'breakfast burrito' which would include scrambled eggs, cheese, and diced potatoes and probably some 'hot sauce' rolled in a warm flour tortilla. Along those lines would be a 'breakfast sandwich' with eggs, cheese and bacon or sausage between a biscuit (not the sweet kind) or a croissant.

breakfast sandwich.jpg
source

A breakfast at home could include these but a popular alternative would be hot or cold cereal. There are a hundred or more different kinds of cold cereal to choose from! My usual breakfast is a fruit 'smoothie' that I like to spice up with shredded ginger. Sometimes I'll have some toast spread with peanut butter!

FrozenFruit.jpg

Samples of my fruit smoothies.
I freeze them then add milk and use
a blender to make them smooth!

divider 1_500.jpg

Which brings me to my question. I am curious to know what a typical breakfast would be where you live. What are your favorite breakfast foods? And if you have a photo to share I'd love to see it!

cereal-1444495_960_720.jpg
source

divider bottom 1.png

I am a member of #ccc by @freedomshift
https://steemit.com/ccc/@freedomshift/an-update-v2-1-to-guaranteed-daily-income-and-payout-for-newbies-2-0-in-ccc-and-follow-the-honor-code-the-creed-conditions-and

Sort:  

Smoothie and juice for me. But growing up, it was always bacon, toast and cold cereal. Plus juice. Usually Total but for special occasions some hard-core sugar cereal like Cap'n Crunch, Sugar Crisps, or Fruity Pebbles. My son who is an athlete has eggs every morning for protein with cold cereal usually Cherrios plus fruit and juice.
1.jpg
Smoothie and juicing station in corner of our kitchen

Wow a whole station, that's really organized! Pure fruit juice isn't good for me but the fruit smoothies are okay for some reason. I learned that Mason jars will fit on my blender's base. So I make up the jars ahead of time and freeze them. Then add milk and buzz them up.

Oh yes, cold cereal was a huge treat for us as kids! Lucky Charms if we were lucky, but usually Wheaties and cornflakes. I still like Grape Nuts! Good memories!

I'm in the states too, so the typical options are like yours, but I find it difficult to eat solid food first thing, so I drink a coffee-chocolate protein shake every morning. It keeps the hypoglycemia away and tastes good, and I can sip on it all morning while I wake up. 😂

I'd be interested in knowing what brand of protein shake - I love coffee and chocolate flavors together! I'm totally with you on not wanting to eat first thing in the morning. It's 2 to 3 cups of coffee for me before I want food.

No brand; I'm allergic to all of the pre-mixes (which I found out the hard way, lol). My mix is from scratch: cup of coffee + few spoonfuls of yogurt or half cup ish of kefir + scoop of plain whey powder (2 heaping Tablespoons, maybe?) + scoop of cocoa powder (about equal amounts) + scoop of cane sugar (more or less depending on if it's fine ground or turbinado) + ice. Sometimes a bit of the sugar is replaced with honey.
Take those estimates of size with a grain of salt, I eyeball it and have different size scoops in the three powders. ;)

I wonder what the common ingredient(s) is in the prepared mixes that gets your allergies going? I like your version because you know exactly what's in it. I can work with this! When you say cocoa powder you mean the unsweetened kind? I just happen to have that! Then I can add the amount of sweetener to taste? I never thought of adding yogurt to my coffee! Thank you for sharing this!

Yep, unsweetened cocoa powder like you bake with, sweetener to taste. It's different things in different mixes; if they try and make it a wholistic vitamin shake with greens, I'm allergic to all greens. If they try and avoid sugar and use stevia, I'm allergic to stevia. If they are cheap and have additives, I'm allergic to corn and soy (which is what a lot of those lab experiment-sounding ingredient names are made of). Etc. 😉
And if it wasn't clear, I blend this in a blender, and it's like a healthier version of a frappuccino.

Okay, I think I have all of the ingredients for this, even have a 'crush ice' button on my blender!
All artificial sweeteners leave a metallic taste in my mouth, I don't know why that is but I think my body is saying no! The one exception is sucralose (Sweeta), which tastes okay to me, but still in moderation. I tried putting in greens but they just got wrapped around the blades so the heck with that!
So I will try this healthy frappuccino and see how it affects my blood sugar. It would be nice to have a different, tasty, alternative in the morning!

I hope you enjoy it! Let me know what you think! :)
I am with you in that I don't like the taste of artificial sweeteners either. And even without the allergy, stevia TASTES like aspartame to me. It may be healthier, but it ain't tastier. LOL
They do make green powders, if that's your fancy. I can't vouch for what they taste like, though. Before I had all the allergy testing done, I drank Shakeology for a long time which did it well (but cost a ton), and Garden of Life Raw was pretty good, too, chocolate for both brands. But just adding a green powder by itself, I haven't tried, because by the time I had the shake down to from scratch ingredients, I had the allergy diagnosis.

I have had allergies all my life but never had an actual allergy test until last year. My biggest concern was that I might be allergic to roses. Turned out I had no allergies at all! I looked at my blank arm, no red spots except for the 'control' one. What the heck? The doctor said I had thing where dust irritates my sinuses, he had it too. He gave me a nasal rinse and a spray, 'allergy' free for the first time ever! So that was a little disappointing. :-]

I'm not sure my body needs powdered green stuff. And you're right, stevia is nasty! (I was given a sample of it in the early 90's and it was nasty then too!) I'm going to try your recipe. All the research you've done and the brands you've tried - I'm not going to let that go to waste!

Oops, I just remembered I don't have any ice in the freezer. I'm going to go do that now. This will make a nice Sunday morning experiment!

Hi there, I have been meaning to check out your blog since I see you all over the place in the same circles I travel.
I am glad I did. I am also fascinated by cultural diversity. I have been learning a lot about @cicisaja lately.
I usually do yogurt and toast sometimes fruit and nuts. I prefer a very light breakfast.
My husband on the other hand likes a full southern breakfast including eggs biscuits gravy and some type of meat. If I eat with him I may go so far as an omelette.

I am so happy to meet you!

@cicisaja is pretty great! I learn a lot from her too!

You aren't kidding about a light breakfast! Do you eat an early lunch, or does this sustain you until mid-day?

My husband doesn't eat breakfast. He doesn't feel like eating until around 11 am, nearly lunchtime. But if we go out for breakfast we both like the full breakfast too!

I tend to just kind of graze on healthy stuff most of the day. But do have an early dinner.
I feel like in the U.S. a lot of people eat what is loosely termed food. It can turn into an almost artificial diet if we don't watch out.
I try to pay some attention to that but am not really ocd about it or anything.
I am completely fascinated by cici and her culture. She always has something interesting to share.

I feel like in the U.S. a lot of people eat what is loosely termed food. It can turn into an almost artificial diet if we don't watch out.
LOL - you are right about that! There are several places where I've tasted the food and thought "This isn't even food!" Then I learned about 'meat glue' and figured that's what's going on - bits and pieces of meat are combined with *transglutaminase* to form a solid piece of meat. To me it gives it a weird texture. Not that I won't eat a hotdog now and then!

She is such a wonderful writer - and in more than one language!

I have been adding foods into my diet slowly for the past few years. I am starting to find that by the time I eat all the things I want to include there is not a lot of room left for the junk I use to eat.

I agree one of my favs to type with. And the english has improved so quickly. I blame engagement league for that.

Hahahaha 😂😂😂 now you are talking about me here to @headchange 😉😉 and I blame you for dragging to here and there. Go check on my latest post about the peanut sauce.

Oh so you think you going to be tagging along this week some? Alright off to see the sauce. 😼

Hehehe.. now you don't have to tag me anymore because ginabot will notify me wherever you are😂

Hello @donna-metcalfe 😉 fruit smoothie or fruit juice is hardly found as breakfast in Aceh or Indonesia, it is considered as drink not food😂 here is my breakfast made by my husband. Fried banana in love shape with cheese image



.. this is a special not a common breakfast for other and here is the common breakfast that we can find anywhere in Jakarta (where I live now)
image

It is calling as Bubur Ayam or Chicken Porridge, see the crispy chips 😉 and I think you'd love this breakfast😂😁

I think you are right that I would love that breakfast! What kind of grain is the porridge made with? I have never had a porridge with any kind of meat in it! Oh yes I saw the chips all right! So - soft and creamy porridge with crispy chips and chicken? Yes, please!

What a sweet husband you have to make a loving breakfast! My father liked bananas in a sandwich with peanut butter, for breakfast or lunch, but I've not had (or heard of) bananas with cheese! That sounds like a sweet and savory combination that would be a very good breakfast!

Thank you for sharing your photos too, they make me hungry to taste them!

Well... I'll show this one too.. my breakfast almost brunch today ... image

Lontong (will find the english word later) with vegetables and peanuts sauce 😉 but off course chips showers too😊 well, I'd better not to hurt your feeling 😂

The grain for the chicken porridge is rice, common rice that we have as our main food here in Indonesia. It was soaking fortnight and then boiled in garlic chicken broth, then the chicken is frying and shredded as topping along with leek, fried shallot and celery.

I think I'll make a post ...a story about the picture in this comment😊 my favourite topic, travelling sellers. I think I will try the 4 posts a day today, because My hubby let me off duty from the shop due to the renovation project and I'm a bit dizzy because I stayed up very late last night to serve the instant noodles for midnight hungry customers😆.

I am so grateful for having a hubby who loves me and knows how to please me with food that I won't refuse to eat. Well... you must have read one of his posts months ago about fried banana with cheese, it's a common food in many cafes here in Indonesia too.

I looked up 'lontong' and apparently there isn't a direct translation to English, I only found a description - rice cooked in a banana leaf. Ooh, peanut sauce too? I'm in!

It seemed to me I've heard of rice cereal so I looked that up too. The references I found were all for baby food! Most of my friends will not eat hot cereal so I don't have anyone here to ask. So strange that it would be hugely popular in one place (for adults) and in another place not eaten at all!

No, I'm sorry, I didn't read your husband's post. Off and on I've had to be away from my computer, it must have been one of those times. I'd be interested in reading it if you could share the link?

So you were up late serving noodles? Sounds like you have good customers for it!

I apologize for not understanding that you now live in Jakarta! That's a long way from Aceh!

I looked up 'lontong' and apparently there isn't a direct translation to English, I only found a description - rice cooked in a banana leaf. Ooh, peanut sauce too? I'm in!

The rice cooked in banana leaf, coconut leaf or sometimes food grade wrapper for hours (about 8-12 hours) just like this one
image
Can you guess which one is the "lontong"? Yeap.. those in triangle shape and those in arranged coconut leaf😊

Well.. if you find any white rice flour, you can try to fried a banana covered with the flour by adding dome waters and sliced shallot before fry it in the hot cooking oil, then spread the grated chedar cheese as topping and it's delicious.

Ahh the link, will share it later.. I use the phone to check on replies, that's why I can find it now. You know what mashed potatoe and bacon are not familiar breakfast to us, and sometimes I wonder how can you all get the energy from sandwich at lunch?

That looks delicious!
When you say 'banana' - I know there are many varieties. I have tried frying what I would call a 'regular' banana with brown sugar as a dessert but it turned very mushy. Then I heard that I should have used a 'plantain' which is a different variety and not sweet on it's own like a 'regular' banana.

I looked back about 6 months in his feed and read some interesting articles but didn't find one on bananas and cheese. No urgency but if you find the link I'd like to read it.

If I make mashed potatoes for supper I like to save some back and later make a fried mashed potato patty - fried until the outside is crisp, then separately fry an egg to put on top, like icing on a cake!

I guess it depends on what kind of sandwich. For example a grilled cheese sandwich I think would quickly raise the blood sugar then quickly drop. For most sandwiches we add extra nutrition by adding a handful of potato chips! (Just kidding. They are not a healthy thing to add!) But a healthy sandwich on whole wheat bread with meat or tuna filling, maybe with sliced celery or carrots on the side, that's fairly healthy.

My father, whose mother was raised in the South so maybe it's a Southern thing, liked to take a slice of bread, put butter on it, then thin slices of cheddar cheese and then sprinkle the top all over with white sugar. Then it goes under the broiler until the cheese turns brown with little bits of burned spots. The sugar makes a thin hard crust and those flavors together are very good! Not a healthy meal but a special treat.

We do not have banana leaves here @cicisaja. Now I am wondering do they add a flavor to the rice at all?
The peanut sauce sounds like something I would love. We combine peanut butter with banana a lot here. I am imagining the sauce would be like a melted peanut butter?

Well... the banana leaf or coconut leaf will add a natural delicious smell and it is better than plastic or aluminium foil, right? No.. they add no flavor.
The peanuts sauce

image

We add some fresh garlic, uhmm.. (I forgot the words for kencur or zingiber root in english), shallot, tamarind and palm sugar to the peanuts paste. Well... nuttela is not a contender for this peanut sauce.

The combination of garlic and peanut does not sound good to me at all. But then I associate peanut with something sweet.
Nutella is great but it is not real peanut butter.
Peanut butter is basically ground peanut with a bit of oil to male it smooth and just a hint of sweetner sometimes added.
I may have to get brave and try using peanut in more savory dishes like you describe.
You still shooting for those engagent league high spots? I am hoping to at least hit top twenty this week.

Congratulations @donna-metcalfe! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am curious not only for breakfast but for daily meal as well @donna-metcalfe. I had learned once form my Macedonian friend of mine how to make bread. But she love to eat rice and local food every day for almost 2 years, when we were together working for redcross

I also am curious about that! For this post I wanted to keep to a simple topic of just the one meal.

I love to make bread! Doing the kneading is very calming, and the bread tastes so much better!

How interesting that you worked for the Red Cross! What was your job there?

kneading is the most important part of making bread, as I know @donna-metcalfe

I was working as logistic and distribution officer, including fleet and warehousing. and all kind of transportation.

That sounds like an interesting, valuable, and stressful job!
If they knew how good a chef you were they might have assigned you to a totally different job!

I bought a little book with different bread recipes. It has funny parts in it too. It suggests that ladies encourage their men to do the kneading, because those nice strong 'man hands' makes it go faster!

We have no kitchen, so logistic and distribution was the best part for me, because supply chain management need people who can travel with really short notice, and ready for un-expected situation in the field... :D

I bet you were really good at that!

Congratulations @donna-metcalfe! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You won 50 Dogecoin thanks for participating in the contest @tonymullins

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12