My Knives - #10 Gyuto With Saya

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Stemians,

It's been a while since I've posted one of my knives, and I've just finished on of the nastiest bi*%$#s so why not make it a post.

This little cunt started off as a regular build, soon become a full custom, and one of the biggest pains in the as so far.
DSC_1447.jpg

Everything that could have gone wrong did! Nevertheless, I am a stubborn bastard so dealing with problematic ladies is something I do well.

Anywho, I won't bother you with details - I will explain in the comments if anyone is interested.

Stats (in non-retarded units):
Steel - 1095 with differential heat-treatment
Handle from the blade - Golden Phoebe, brass, walnut
Saya - Secupira

Length: blade - 245mm, AO - 375mm
Height: 58mm

Pics - first some from the build, then a nicer ones from the photo session.

This is where I realized I've screwed up the HT
IMG_20180413_125306.jpg

choosing the wood for handle and saya
IMG_20180425_172238.jpg

centering the handle before I start the final shaping
IMG_20180501_165213.jpg

a little bit of hand sanding
IMG_20180510_130706.jpgIMG_20180512_141437.jpg


And the final product


DSC_1420-2.jpg
DSC_1423-2.jpg
DSC_1443.jpg
DSC_1444.jpg
DSC_1453.jpg
DSC_1462.jpg
DSC_1449.jpg

And that's it!
As always, leave a comment down below if you have something to say.

Thanks for stopping by.

P.S. Spam will be flagged!


















Sort:  

Bello e molto curato. Ottimo accostamento dei materiali. Hamon ben riuscito, molto marcato.
Un saluto, nicola

Grazie mille!
The wood did turn out better than expected ;)

The knife and your photography is stunning

Well, thank you very much! ;)

I realize you had a hard time with this knife, but it did turn out beautifully. Maybe you'll remember it more for all the difficulty it gave you (or what you created yourself)? You've got a talent for knives, and in spite of it all, you do enjoy it. Or else you enjoy being miserable. Take your pick. :)

Yep, it was a struggle. But to be honest, the ones that make me work hard are the ones I enjoy working on the most - they test my skill and make me a better knifesmith in the end.

There were a few times I almost went to Hulk smash mode with this one ;)

Awesome post dude! knive lives matter

It’s a very beautiful knife! Your skill and artistry shows well in the final product as well as in your photographs. Whoever ends up getting this beautiful creation is so lucky!

Thank you - much appreciated! ;)

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Thanx guys for you continuous support! ;)

What an beautiful work of Art!

Thank you chef ;)

Wow mond blowing . .
will U gift me one?

Sure I will - you just cover the shipping ;)

Congratulation docsmith! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 45min with 9 votes.

You have a minor typo in the following sentence:

It's been a while since I've posted one of my knives, and I've just finished on of the nastiest bi*%$#s so why not make it a post.
It should be one of the instead of on of the.

Lol, yes I do and I don't care - if you know what it should be, everyone will know...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17