Would You Eat This? Delicious Snails at the Food Fair

in #food6 years ago


I personally really love these, these are a type of sea snails called 'common whelk'. You see these a lot in Belgium, they're usually sold at markets and other events around the country.

These ones have been cooked in a spicy broth that has a distinct celery flavor. They might not be for everyone, especially if you're squeamish about eating snails, but once you get over that they're truly amazing.

In terms of texture they're very chewy, but packed with flavor from the broth.

Here's a little close up.

If you're ever in Belgium, do try these out. They're called 'Wulken' in Dutch and there's a famous stand at the old stock exchange in Brussels that sells them. The best ones you usually find at the coast though.


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT

The 4 links above are referral links and support this blog


Sort:  

Oh man I would never eat those lol, I hear many people saying that they are so nice, but it's not for me. Glad you liked them though :)

Yeah it's definitely not for everyone. I personally never eat something with liver or any other organs. Tried it once and really didn't like the taste or thought.

Me neither lol .. the smell of it is already so bad lol

That sounds delicious @daan never tried sea snails, love snails in garlic butter, have a great day!

Visiting from @qurator

They do look a bit chewy and squishy. I like some seafood that looks like these such as mussels and cockles, but snails? These are the things that eat my plants!

I'm not so sure I could muster the courage.

You just can't think about it :P They're a lit like larger cockles when you think about it. The texture is pretty smooth too, no weird bits inside.

I could be tempted if you told me it was seafood first :)

Hello Friend!! I hope you have a happy week, I have never tasted snail, but I would definitely try it, I love trying new and exotic foods.

When I eat, I sometimes have issues with texture. Thanks for sharing, but I think I need to pass on this. Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-06T14:35:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 81.60/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Daan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I think the chewiness would put me off personally, but I'd definitely try them.. :o)

I am not sure if I could get over the texture. It sounds like the flavor would be worth it though. The first big obstacle would be getting myself to Belgium!

I love things like this! I adore seafood. I also used to love eating snails when we visited France when I was a child. I had some snails in a restaurant recently and didn't like them so much - they were too chewy, maybe not cooked properly.
I don't think it's the prettiest food though. Maybe they'd be better disguised in an omelette.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94