Dear Diary: I Like To Eat WormssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago


Source

If you are watching National Geographic or Discovery Channel you would stumble upon some episodes of survival in the wild series which shows something like like this kind of larvae from beetles which looks like some huge maggots. I had seen these grubs personally when me and my friends investigated a rotting coconut palm trunk.

Well it is not widely eaten in my place here because it is in not in our tradition to eat such food item. But if I have the opportunity I would like to try and in fact I want to try insects really and other exotic foods except maybe field mouse/rat or snakes.

I guess that these grubs tastes nice because of their fat content which makes them palatable especially if parboiled and then fried and seasoned. Well I think I will die not being able to eat what I wanted especially some selected exotic foods there in the wild.

But one delicacy that I is my favorite was the fermented rice and fish, it is just an acquired taste and not all people likes it. I was once introduced to it by my mother when she bought and eaten this weird pinkish side dish with weird smell. Tasting it a little leads to eating it and enjoying it too until you carve for it sometimes because of its yumminess and sour taste because of the fermentation of the rice and the flavoring of the raw fish which is pickled by the lactic acid as the rice ferments. Sometimes the maker does a bad work on it and the sourness is affected making it mellow and not delicious, it just have the right amount of sourness into it to make it delicious as it is eaten with rice.

Sort:  

I've eaten silk worms before here in Korea.
It is called bundegi. They are kind of tasty, but I can't eat more than 5. Then I start to get a stomachache.

I think those silk worms are in the Pupae stage @gungho and they are way more clean maybe than palm tree worms because they eat tea leaves.

Oh~... This is what they look like.
PSX_20181204_102842.jpg

Yes they cook them after they were stripped from their silk.

You should definitely try it. It tastes very nice. We call it edible worm, here in Nigeria. Not every tribe eat it though, but my tribe do eat it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97