Sourdough Bread in a Wood-fired Oven

in #food6 years ago

I have been building clay ovens and baking sourdough bread for a over a decade now. It is one of my passions that I share wherever I go. I have been teaching an annual oven building course at Yestermorrow Design Build School in Vermont since 2012. If you are interested check it out here - https://yestermorrow.org/learn/courses/build-earthen-oven.

I thought I would take some time to post some of the resources I have created for my Steemit community! Below is a short video I made of a bakes I did in a little oven I built. This oven was built at a rental property so I made it with as little effort and zero cost as I was only going to be using it for one season. It worked great as you can see in the video. After the video you will find more resources.

If you like to eat bread I suggest getting interested in clay ovens and sourdough, there is nothing like it! As you can see with this little oven in the video you don't need much to get started. I was inspired to build this little one by another youtube video you can watch at the bottom of this post.

Here is a booklet I created on how to teach your own earthen oven course. At the end of the booklet there are instructions on how to use the oven and some of the basics of sourdough bread making. - https://www.academia.edu/12121029/Facilitating_an_Earth_Oven_Course

If you have an oven project and have some questions leave it in the comments and I will see how I can help.

Are there any other oven/bread geeks around here?

Sort:  

Did anyone here call for a bread geek?

Good to see you here! More to come from me on this front!

I'm counting on you :)
There's also @bowess writing about bread, but only Polish, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48