Chili recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)


                                    Chili Recipe

Hello everyone, today it is cold here and I just wanted to share my chili recipe.  It is a very low fat recipe and it is vegetarian friendly.  One way to warm up is to have a delicious bowl of chili.  

Ingredients

  • 1  (6 oz )can of tomato paste
  • 1 (8 oz) can of tomato sauce
  • 1 (16 oz) can of petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15.5 oz) light red kidney beans (drain the juice from the beans)
  • 1 (16 oz) chili beans (drain the juice from the beans)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 teaspoons flaxseed ( I try in sneak in a little more nutrition in my meals)

Spices

  • 4 teaspoon of chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper ( if you like it hot add 1 teaspoon)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of red peppers

Directions

  1. Peel and chop the medium onion.
  2. Using a large cooking pot, poor in the tomato paste, sauce, diced tomatoes, kidney beans, chili beans, 2 teaspoons of flaxseed. Cook on low heat, stir all the mixture. 
  3. Add spices, chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, sugar, cumin, salt, black pepper, and red peppers.
  4. Stir all the spices and cover with a lid.  
  5. Stir occasionally,  let it cook for 1 hour. 

Makes 8 servings 

1 serving equals 1 cup = 153 calories , 1 gram fat . It is a very low fat meal. You can add cheese for the topping and some crackers.  The crackers I used were wheat crackers.  I am always trying to find ways to eat healthy low fat meals.  

The chili is very delicious on a cold day. It is easy to make and it is budget friendly. Thanks for reading my post.  I hope you enjoyed my recipe.  @christir





Sort:  

Yes it is a great day for chili! Stay warm!

I love that you put flaxseed in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94