Vegan Potato Squash Quesadillas With Guacamole And Tomatillo Mango Salsa

in #food6 years ago

Okay so it's mango season and I'm in Mexico. There are mango trees everywhere. I am not even exaggerating when I say that I don't have to walk more than twenty steps to the next mango tree here in Acapulco. I am driven crazy by them. They hang in beautiful clusters over my head and I can't reach them. Fortunately I can buy a kilo of mangoes for about fifty cents Canadian. Not to mention that the avocados are flooding in from somewhere right now.

We ate most of the mangoes fresh as is but with the rest I made a mango tomatillo salsa. It may sound strange but it really was delicious. I also made some quesadillas which you probably know, commonly is loaded with cheese along with other things. I don't eat animal products but that doesn't mean I don't want something fun like a quesadilla.

tort.jpg

tort5.jpg

tort4.jpg

Potato squash filling



1 potato cubed
2 cups squash cubed
1 onion
Salt to taste

Saute onion then add squash and potato. Cover and roast in the pan for five minutes letting it all cook in it's own juices. Add a little water just to keep everything from sticking. Cover and simmer until cooked and soft. Or you can bake everything in the oven. Put everything in the food processor or mash by hand with a potato masher. I don't have that tool so I blended it.

tort1.jpg

Mango tomatillo salsa



2 mangoes diced
2 cups chopped tomatillos
3 cloves garlic diced
1 small onion diced
1 jalapeno or hot chili pepper chopped
Salt to taste
Small handful of cilantro chopped

Roast everything in a pot or in the oven similar to the squash potato filling, then when it is done blend it to make a
sauce

tort6.jpg

Guacamole


2 ripe avocados
2 cloves garlic minced
Juice of 1 or 2 limes
1 jalapeno minced
salt to taste

Either mash everything by hand if you like it chunky or put it in the food processor. I like it fairly smooth. It seems to
blend the flavors better. I sometimes mince an onion in there but not always like this time.

tort3.jpg

tort2.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

That looks absolutely FABULOUS!!!!

Oh wow thank you. It really was enjoyable.

I have NO doubt! haha ;)

The mango is very rich, I am anxious because the season arrives here in my country I think it is not enough, I had eaten mango salad but not mango sauce, I liked it very much I hope I can prepare it

Hello @andrina. I can't get enough mangoes. I wish I had a freezer so I could make some mango coconut ice cream. Could you make it for me?

I knew it was a bad idea to follow you :D Your posts make me so hungry! Looks amazing😉

Ha ha! I love making people hungry. Thanks so much!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 17:11:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 49.40/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love mangos. This is my favorite fruit. Great that you are in Mexico to try these. :-) I always buy them in the supermarket in masses, when they are good and freeze them. But you have to try and try and try. It is hard to get good ones in Germany.

I am very fortunate to have mangoes raining on me for now. But next week I will be back in Canada with imported mangoes haha.

LOL, good idea. Fill your luggage before you leave. 😊

Finally, you made it for this weeks selection of my post "Food By Red Fish". Check it out!

I had no idea. Thanks.

I'm so jealous of you right now! I'd love to have mangoes but they unfortunately aren't in season here where I live yet :( And even when they are they are suuuuper expensive.. You really are so lucky to live in a place like Mexico

I am very lucky for now but we have to go back to Canada next week.

another great one dear, you always provide some tasty, yummy plates.

Thanks my friend.

These vegan quesadillas look amazing! It's so amazing you can eat mangos right from the trees, I'm sure they taste much better than the imported store-bought ones.

Oh thanks. There are so many mangoes everywhere. I wish I could carry a long ladder around with me. Ha ha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71