Lentils Two Ways- Vegan - Creamy Lentils With Curry Cream With Side Mango Salad - Lentil Tortilla Soup

in #food6 years ago

Creamy lentils over rice, nutty curry cream sauce, with a side of green mango and cucumber salad


mango.jpg

I have found that lentils are one of the handiest things to have in the pantry especially for someone like me who doesn't have a refrigerator to keep a lot of fresh foods. I have found so many things to do with them and so many ways to flavor them, but I am in Mexico with limited items available and limit budget at the moment , so lentils have really done their job feeding us.

mango4.jpg

I had some small green mangoes that we managed to pick from a tree on the street, over a week ago and I've been keeping them on the ledge outside. Today I used them for a mango salad. They were not ripe but they were slightly orange so it was perfect for a mango salad. If you use a mango that is too ripe it will be difficult to slice thinly or dice and hold their shape. I had half a cucumber left and put that together. It was perfect as a side to the lentils and rice which I made spicy.

Mango salad


1 cup sliced cucumber
1/4 cup onion finely diced
1teaspoon agave nectar
juice of 1/2 lime
1teaspoon salt

Creamy lentils


2 cups cooked lentils
1 onion diced
1 carrot diced
1 stalk celery diced
2cloves garlic minced
2 small tomatoes

Saute all ingredients add tomatoes and lentils cook than puree. Reheat and serve over rice. Add cream sauce

Nutty cream sauce

1/2 cup soaked almonds
1 clove garlic
1/2 teaspoon minced ginger
pinch cumin
pinch turmeric
pinch chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1/4 cup water or plant milk

Blend until smooth

mango3.jpg

Lentil Tortilla Soup

len3.jpg

Being In Mexico for so long, makes me want to do Mexican style food. I can't help but use the ingredients that are so easy to get. I had tortillas left over so I thought what better way to use them then in a soup.

2 cups cooked lentils
1 onion chopped
2 cloves garlic
1/2 cup water
4 Roma tomatoes
fresh cilantro
juice of one lime
1 teaspoon salt or to taste
1/2 jalapeno pepper

len2.jpg

len6.jpg

len7.jpg

Saute onions and garlic, add lentils. Put tomatoes lime juice, jalapeno, salt, and cilantro in a blender and puree. Add to the pot.

len.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Those both look hearty and healthy, wish I could try them.

Thank you very much. Lentils are great to work with.

Wowzers, curry cream sauce is all I need to hear! These look amazing, and the lentil dish drool! And I have found another Vegan account to follow too, fantastic, its going to be a great day!

Wonderful thank you. Nice to meet you. Followed you back.

Congratulations. Your post has been featured in nunesso's recipe curation post for Nutrition and Natural Products. You have received a 100% upvote and resteem from us.

https://steemit.com/recipe/@nunesso/nunesso-nutritional-recipes-curation-2

Hello friend how are you, you see that you solve very well in the kitchen, I want to taste that mango salad, the lentils that gives us a lot of proteins can be done in many ways, I have tried lentil croquettes, I live in venezuela and you know learned to solve what is there, because here the food that is obtained is expensive, and there are many shortages, then I did not know, but little by little I am learning to solve.

I want to go to Venezuela. You are lucky to live there!

Ohh my goodness Carolyn, I love both recipes!! Simple food can be so tasty, right? I'll definitely make both of them :D I love lentils, too, I always keep some in the kitchen. I resteemed your post, too, to be able to find it later.

I just saw this comment. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it!

Hi my brother
Teach me to use esteem better, true and useful.
In order to get more votes.
Thank you sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04