Picture of Salad I Ate Tonight At Local Cafe...It's Mostly Organic Which Was a Pleasant Surprise!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

organic salad.JPG
Unless you live in a place like Bolder or New York City, you probably won't find anything organic on the menu. Tonight, however, I was able to find a mostly organic salad on the menu which was really tasty. As you can see, the salad was comprised of spring mix lettuce, strawberries, pecans, grated romano cheese and a crispy crouton/cracker on the side. It came with a lemon vinaigrette that I drizzled on top of it. The fresh items were organic but not the condiments.

There happens to be a farm nearby that provides seasonal organic fruits and vegetables for local restaurants and the quality and freshness seem to be top notch! In addition to eating organic, local produce probably ranks second in priority on the list because you avoid the chlorine water bath that pre-packaged containers have to undergo. Plus, it's just plain fresh! :)

I'm sure the salad would be an easy recipe to replicate at home and the only difference is that it would be a lot cheaper by preparing it at home. Here's the thing.... It's always fun to go out and eat once in a while, but it's much cheaper and healthier to eat at home most of the time.

I thought you all would enjoy my sharing the photo with you and what I had to eat this evening. Well, it has been a long day and so I think I'm going to call it a night. See you all tomorrow here on Steemit!

If you like my posts, then feel free to comment below, upvote, resteem and follow.

Have a wonderful night! :)

Sort:  

Plenty of organic cafes outside Boulder and NYC. ;)

@scorpiodragoness
Sounds like the number is growing which is a positive sign. 😊

Strawberries are great in a salad :)

@brokentoyland
Oh yes, stawberries really take a salad to a whole new level! Thank you for commenting on my post!

Good looking salad, healthy too!! I've enjoyed your post. Keep it coming.

@suziescorner
Thanks so much! I'm glad you're enjoying the posts and I also enjoy yours, as well! Have a great day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30