Easy Superfood Salad!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Our niece is 9 and has now put together where her cheeseburgers come from & well she's vegetarian now! I don't blame her, I made the same choice at one point in my life. Now I am more of an eco conscious eater but still I find myself preparing mostly vegetarian meals.

IMG_5205.JPG

Since we are all back home from our summer trips we decided to get together. I got put in charge of the salad, I couldn't have been more thrilled, because I love loving salad. Love makes everything taste better! While I made a salad big enough for 16 guests, as long as you're sticking to the basics you can adjust according to your guest count.

IMG_5182.JPG
This superfood salad is exactly that its super healthy, raw, vegan, gluten free. You can also make adjustments based on any personal dietary restrictions.

Here is a list of ingredients used:
• Kale (Desired amount)
• Apples (2)
• Carrots (3)
• 1/2 cup of Nuts ( I used pumpkin & pecan, but any will do)
• Dried Fruit ( I used Goji berries, but any will do)
• Dates (3-4) (These are a must for sweetest)
• lemon 🍋 (1)
• Apple Cider vinegar (1/4 cup)
• Olive Oil (1/4 cup)
• Sea Salt & Pepper ( a pinch)

First Step

Make your dressing:

Combine your Olive Oil, Apple Cider Vinegar, 3/4 of your lemon & your salt and pepper.

IMG_5190.JPG

You're welcome to whisk it, I prefer to shake it in a small mason jar. Another reason I use this is if I ever have left overs it's already ready to go in the fridge.

IMG_5211.JPG

Step 2

Kale is a hearty green and takes a little effort to break down. You can purchase and quick and easy bag. I get a great value at Costco, other wise regular grocery stores I rarely purchase the pre bagged. So if you have a fresh bunch of kale. Remove your stems and break down your leaves to an edible size.

Step 3
You want to dress your Kale leaves and allow the acid in the lemon and vinegar to brake down your leaves a little. So pour 3/4 of your dressing on and mix very well until all the Kale is saturated but not dripping.

IMG_5195.JPG

Step 4

Dice up your dates and mix your dry ingredients. I usually start with a juilan and then dice like so.

IMG_5208.JPG

Mix them in with your other choices of nuts and dried fruit.

IMG_5183.JPG

Step 5

Dice your apples... the other 1/4 lemon you haven't used will be mixed with the apple to help preserve the bright fresh color and not turn brown with oxidation.

IMG_5199.JPG
(Don't mind me, I play with my food as I go for small moments of personal entertainment!)

Step 6

Carrots, normally I would grate them as I like the look it creates. However I was running short on time and decided to break out my little food processor for the super easy chop setting. You could also do this with your Apple if you prefer. I find it breaks the apple down a little more than I like, but it works just the same.

IMG_5200.JPG

Final Step

Toss your salad! I save the dry ingredients for last.
I mix the apple and carrot first.

IMG_5202.JPG

Add your dry mix , remaining dressing & enjoy!

IMG_5205.JPG

I find that it holds up pretty well so you can store it in the refrigerator. Depending on the type of nuts and amount of dressing you go with it's a great super nutritional meal prep for lunches.

I hope you enjoy it! Looking forward to your comments and hope you try creating your own and find on the bus worthy of an upvote.

Resteemed and share with your friends!

Happy Steeming,

@brandyb

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to write this recipe!

I'm a recent convert to the Vegan fold and looking for people who can aid my quest :)

Asher

Asher, Congratulations on your quest to make a lifestyle change! I love eating clean 👍 I'll be looking forward to following & sharing posts in the future!

Thank you very much! Me too!

Nom nom nom 😋

Looks like it would pair great with some grilled chicken!

Salmon wouldn't be super yummy! Or chicken sausage even!

Done
Exchange Followed & Upvoted

Thank you kindly! Looking forward to checking out your posts!

I hear you! We are conscious eaters too. We mostly eat a plant-based diet with an occasional egg, homemade yogurt and honey added. Love that salad. Kale, apples, and nuts work so well together. Getting hungry here!

Great to hear @amy-goodrich! I'd love to hear of you have some similar with a different dressing. I sort of always stay traditional with this one, I need to get out of the box!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88