I Spent $200 for What?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

colorful reusable bags.jpg.838x0_q67_crop-smart.jpg

I can't believe it. I spent almost $200 yesterday on 4 shopping bags of food. Of that amount, around $28.00 was Ontario sales tax. In spite of the grocery consumer price index saying that inflation is almost non-existent, the ever shrinking size of the package and my pocket book tell me something else. A article from the Globe and Mail a month ago tells me that I might be onto something. Sylvain Charlebois, the Dean of Dalhousie University’s Faculty of Management explains below:

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/globe-investor/personal-finance/household-finances/canadas-food-prices-offer-a-taste-of-inflation-to-come/article35320029/

As one of my regular features on my steemit blog, I will make my own BGPI (Boodles Grocery Price Index) based upon sharing my personal grocery shopping with you with the stores that I frequent in the Greater Toronto area. You'll see what I believe to be the "true" inflation rate which I think will work out be much higher than is what is currently being reported.

Hopefully you will support me in this experiment.

Sort:  

In Germany you have 19 percent sales tax🙈

Ouch! I thought that 13% was bad.

Too delicious looking for words! @boodles17

This is a really good idea!

@boodles17

Haha excellent idea. We are seeing the same in our part of the world as well. One head of broccoli $6 NZ, and this is the season broccoli is ment to be grown. We have 15% sales tax in NZ, Something is going on :S

I agree that something is going on. I saw a head of cauliflower in the winter of 2015-2016 go for over $8 CDN. It was out of season and the price eventually went down but still.

it's 21% here in the Netherlands

I think you won the tax rate sharing session on this post @lizzyb

Taxes here are really insane :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90