Salute your Health! | A Liquid Dose of Pomelo Sunshine!

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0021 (3).jpg

Good Day My Healthy Steemian Friends! The weather is hot today, a great day for a cold morning smoothie! Won't you join me?


The Pomelo, are you familiar with this fruit?


DSC_0003 (2).jpg


In Chinese Culture the Pomelo is a sign of prosperity! A popular citrus fruit, cousin to the grapefruit! The Pomelo is much larger, sweeter and less tart when compared to its cousin. I love grapefruit and often include them in my morning juices and smoothies. Today I thought I would share a morning smoothie with you incorporating the Pomelo!


It’s Healthy!


  • Contains high levels of Potassium! Great for the heart, great for athletes!
  • Loaded with Vitamin C! Promotes a healthy urinary tract by reducing acid in urine, helps prevent colds, and flu.
  • Lots of Vitamin A! Supports enhanced blood flow to the skin and hair, prevents premature wrinkles and hair loss
  • High in Anti-oxidants: helps prevent hair loss, slows the damage from free radicals

Just a few of the many healthy benefits of this great fruit!

todaysjourney.jpg

A Refreshing Pomelo Mango Smoothie!

Today I used…

  • Pomelo
  • Frozen Banana
  • Carrot
  • Avocado
  • Fresh Mango
  • Maqui Powder
  • Almond Milk

  • For Garnish:
    Fresh Raspberries
    Hemp Hearts

  • Wash and chop all fruits as needed for your high speed blender.
    A lucky carrot today!

    IMG_2720 (2).JPG

  • Beautiful pink Pomelo! Go ahead, taste it! I only needed 1/2 of a Pomelo today! They're huge!
    DSC_0008 (3).jpg
  • Now add everything to the blender, and blend until smooth! You may want to add almond milk or water if it is too thick!

Top with Raspberries, sprinkle with Hemp seeds for added protein


DSC_0017 (2).jpg

Bon Appetit!


DSC_0027 (2).jpg


If you love grapefruit I hope you’ll try this great fruit! Pomelos are great in salads or eaten alone! It’s so versatile, we love Pomelo in our morning juices, the mild citrus flavor is great!


Do you have a favorite Pomelo recipe? If so I would love to hear!
And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

this post is the full of the energy and vitamin thanks for sharing

Thank you! It was a great breakfast! Appreciate your kind words @gamercreed :)

Check you out with all of your exotic fruits. Last week the red bananas, which I looked for at my grocery store to no avail, and this week the pomelo. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted a pomelo. Now I have two things on my list… thanks for the recipes @birdsinparadise! By the way, your food photography is spot on- great job!

Good to see you and thanks for the kind words @puravidaville. I love going to the market and looking for fruits and veggies I haven't eaten. Sometimes its good, sometimes not so much, lol The pomelo i s oretty mild compared to a regular grapefruit. I'm surprised you don't see them in LA considering the huge Asian culture in the area!

Well I’ve never looked for them so now maybe I’ll spot them. My husband likes picking out fruits he’s never tried before and writing an entire post about them. Last week it was a Hachiya Persimmons that we both rejected immediately upon tasting. I actually thought I was having an allergic reaction. Haha, but before that it was prickly pear cactus and some other things. It always makes for an interesting morning. The pomelo is at the top of the list now :)

That is a one sleek carrot; she has the legs of Barbie lol. However, I never made anything from pomelo, but we usually cut it in half and eat it with a spoon with some sweetener. Well after seeing this rich super tasty smoothie, that may change 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Isn't that carrot too cute? lol I struggled to chop it up, hehehe! The pomelo is so big though you can use it for more than one meal right? So glad you stopped by my friend, you always bring a smile to my face :) Thank you!!!!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 308 (11/10/18)

looks delicious

Thank you! Glad to see you stopped by :)

I like the recipe, there is so much health in it and that carrot looking like legs is adorableeee 💚

Thanks @zen-art. Glad you liked the carrot, lol It was so cute I hated to use it ;) Thanks for stopping by!

I'm a sucker for a good smoothie ;) I have been expanding my fruit selection lately as I've been making more smoothies but I have never heard of this pomelo melon. It does sound good tho, so I am going to have to keep my eyes open next time I go to the market. :)

Yum... I have never tried Pomelo before, but this looks like a perfect summer snack! Now, if only we could get decent mangos in the Netherlands....

@birdsinparadise You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Pomelo's are delicous! Although I've only ever tasted them overseas. And that looks like such a delicious smoothie, especially for our scorching summer weather.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07