Healthy Snacks | Tamari Tempeh Jerky!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8533 (2).JPG

Good day my Steemian foodie friends! I’m visiting my daughter this week and trying to help her get settled in her new home in Colorado.


As some of you know she is a new mom and right after delivery she and her husband moved to Colorado. That’s a lot to digest all at once! I very willingly volunteered to come visit! Nothing like a sweet baby to snuggle, right?


While I am here I am trying to prepare healthy meals and snacks as she doesn’t have a lot of spare time to cook with an infant. I wanted to make a protein snack which would be easy to grab in a minute. She loves the taste of beef jerky but doesn’t like beef. I found a solution which I think she will enjoy!


todaysjourney.jpg

Tempeh Jerky!


For those of you who are not familiar with Tempeh, it is a fermented soy cake which is high in protein, probiotics and a wide variety of vitamins and minerals. It is an excellent meat replacement and is considered a very rich source of calcium.

I thought all of these nutritional benefits would be great during this busy stage in life.

Ingredients

  • Tempeh
  • Low Sodium Tamari Sauce
  • Low Sodium Worcestershire Sauce
  • Maple Syrup

Slice the tempeh 1/8” thick. Next, combine the Tahini, Worcestershire Sauce and Maple Syrup in a small bowl. Mix well


IMG_8475 (2).JPG


Place the sliced Tempeh in a container or zip lock baggie, pour marinade over all, seal and refrigerate overnight.


IMG_8477 (2).JPG


The next day I placed the individual slices on my food dehydrator making sure the slices were not touching. You can do this in your oven at its lowest setting but watch it carefully so it doesn’t overcook. Dehydrate at 160 degrees for 8-10 hours. Check at 8 hours to see if it is dry and crisp.


IMG_8482 (2).JPG


It’s so easy, and tasty! She was pleased to know she had a healthy snack to grab on the go!


IMG_8530 (2).JPG


Come on, give it a try! These are great when hiking, after a workout, or after school snacks!


IMG_8535 (2).JPG

I prepared a few other healthy treats before I left, I’ll be sharing them with you over the next few days. She is gluten and dairy intolerant so my recipes are adjusted accordingly. I hope you’ll stop by!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 246 (9/03/18)

Thanks for featuring my post! Truly appreciated!

Is tempeh a soy based product? It does look yummy and the recipe seems easy. Only thing missing is the dehydrator. ;-)

Yes, temphe is fermented soy pressed into a cake form. A tasty treat for on the go! You can make these in the oven on the lowest temp but be careful, watch as they will burn and they don't take as long to make! :) Thanks for stopping by!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-02T03:25:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 765.25/200.00
Total Photos: 121
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I will stick to the regular beef jerky but since my wife and girls are vegetarians I will make sure they see this, they might just want to give it a try. Nicely done tutorial.

Yum! You're calling my name with all these recipes. :) I do really enjoy tempeh, so I may have to give this a go if I can recreate on a low temp in the oven!

That looks really good actually, I'm not usually into most gluten-free foods, but I'd make an exception for this. Great share!

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This looks like a nice one for vegans @birdsinparadise, enjoy the little baba!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.22
ETH 2490.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63