A great family dinner thanks to steemit!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This weekend, Heather's sister and one of her brothers came to visit for the weekend. It always great having family come visit and I wanted to do something special for them.

This week, right before their visit, @papa-pepper and I traded his 8 rabbits for my 20 or so standard quail. I recently hatched some jumbos, and wanted to make room for those, and get another meat source on the homestead. @papa-pepper has been wanting to give quail a try, had a surplus of rabbits, so it was a perfect trade!

We got 4 girls and 4 boys, and we decided to cull 2 of the boys so we could have 2 sets of trios. The sibling-in-laws had not had rabbit that they could remember, so i thought rabbit would be a perfect meal!
20180429_143106.jpg

I had been itching to get my dutch oven in the coals for a while, and this was the perfect excuse. I didn't really use any measurements for ingredients, just chopped up and tossed in the basics, celery, onion, and carrot. Then I added the wild garlic cloves we gathered the day before to the mix.
20180428_115429.jpg
20180429_134630.jpg
20180429_140946.jpg
Chicken stock, salt, and peppercorns finished it out before it went into the coals for 4 hours. I used the wild garlic greens to season some roasted gold potatoes that went into a cast iron pan for a few hours too.
20180429_173318.jpg
Here is the rabbit finished:
20180429_171446.jpg

Fork tender and melts in your mouth delicious! It was a great end to a wonderful weekend with family. This meal would not have been possible without @papa-pepper and the steemit platform. It goes to show you that #steemit isnt just a blog crypto site, but a rich community that offers great connections and opportunities that enrich our lives. Thanks for reading today and steem on my friends!!!

Sort:  

Simply yum!! I love that you incorporated the wild onions!

I'm cooking with them tonight!

You made me feel hungry;) Thanks for sharing your lovely atmosphere!

Thanks for stopping by and giving me a look! :)

Wow what a nice trade!

I just finished eating a meal and looking at this cooked rabbit, made me really hungry again my mouth is watering. I can't wait to move on to our property to be able to cook outdoors again. Thanks for the belly grumbles. Excellent photos!

Thank you so much! I LOVE cooking outdoors when I can. Thankfully spring is in full swing and there will be lots of opportunity!

Looks like we've finally come into spring also (New York) and in a few weeks we will be full time hoemsteaders... cooking outside is a coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77