Say Cheese

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I have always loved cheese and bread so why not cheese-bread! I bake bread every few weeks so this time I tried adding chunks of cheese to a standard dough recipe containing butter and milk.

3 cups flour
1/2 Tbsp yeast
1 cup milk
1Tbsp honey
1 tsp salt

I have kneaded bread by hand, but it is so much easier using an electric mixer with dough hooks!

image.jpeg

placed in a lightly oiled bowl, cover, and allowed to rise for 2 hours

image.jpeg

Two hours later....

image.jpeg

Rolled out to a 12 x 16 rectangle...

image.jpeg

Added chunks of cheddar cheese....

image.jpeg

Rolled up....

image.jpeg

pinched the edges closed and placed in a clay bread baker for the second rise....

image.jpeg

One hour later....sliced some lines in the top for steam to escape...

image.jpeg

Baked at 400 for 40 minutes...

image.jpeg

Let cool and sliced!

image.jpeg

Ok, it tasted great. The milk and butter made the crumb tender and tasty but....it is not exactly what I am looking for. I want a loaf that has chunks of cheese throughout, but not rolled up like a jelly role! You know the kind you get at the bakery. How do they do it? I dont think they add the cheese before they knead the dough....it would break down into tiny pieces! Do you make cheese bread and how do you do it?

Sort:  

I have never heard of cheese bread - but now I want it :-D And yours looks amazing. I recently started to bake bread in an iron pot with a special dough which contains only tiny amounts of yeast but must ripe over days. I am still in the experimental stadium :-D Your bread has such an even crumb I am envious. Sadly there is no way to send it via internet …

That sounds like a "no knead" recipe. I made that too before I discovered the dough hooks for my mixer! The use of milk instead of water and the addition of melted butter makes the crumb almost cakelike! Good for the taste buds...not so much for the waistline! Aww, you know I would share if I could!

Yes you are right, the dough has to be stretched not kneaded. And I will try out your recipe with butter, I never used butter in a yeast recipe before :-o
I am excited how it turns out

Wow, looks awesome! I dont know how they make it at the store, but I have always wanted to experiment and try it out. Maybe adding the cheese chunks during kneading? Ill have to give it a try one of these days...

Thanks for stopping by! I am determined...so I will keep trying. I have another idea.

Great! I hope it works out! If so, make a post about it! Inquiring minds need to know! ;)

Will do! Thanks for your interest! 😀

Looks really great. I've never thought of doing this before! I love my kitchen aid mixer and when not busy I make bread and pizza dough all the time. Not sure how to fix the bakery type cheese bread issue. I've made cheese drop biscuits before and just mixed the cheese into the dough at the end. Very gently and just enough to mix it in.

Discovering that I could use my mixer for kneading bread was a life changer! No more sore hands from kneading. How they struggled in the old days!

Thanks for the recipe! Looks very delicious) I Must try to cook )

Thanks. Like anything else....it gets easier with practice! 😀

like we do with our biscuits - grate the cheese and add it to the dry mix - should work out just fine! That way it won't clump together or stay in chunks...

Doesn't work. Kneading for 8 minutes virtually disintigrates the cheese!

I guess it's different when it's biscuits - but I'll see what I can find out from our cheese bread that we've used... keep you posted!

It looks delicious, but sadly I am allergic to wheat flour :( Do you think it would work using spelt flour instead? I know the texture is slightly different.

I have never worked with spelt so I don't know but it's certainly worth a try if you like cheese! Just use your recipe and add some...then if it works, you can let us know. 😀

"If i like cheese!!" :D :D

Me too! It is my weakness! 😀

That looks so tasty @anise ! Thank you so much for this recipe... I think I would add some herbs (rosemary for example to mine :)

Yes, herbs would be lovely! I made some cheese buns with this exact recipe, only difference is that I sliced the roll before baking. I added dill and grated onion along with the cheese. It was too much...so I wanted this loaf to be cheese only!

The dough is kneaded and then at the end cheese is added and folded into it. When the it is rising, a couple stretch and folds distribute it even more.

Interesting! That is another method to try! I also read one that said to roll it out after the rise, cut into chunks and layer in the baker with chunks of cheese and a bit of melted butter for the second rise. More experimenting...and tasting...is necessary!

Nice post. Doesn't look like you are getting the votes you deserve though. You should check out steemengine.

you have quality food and i am in love with it. More so, food with great taste speaks a lot especially when it is nutritious to the body system.
Above all, good food with preservative enables us to live healthy and live longer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22