🌿 Toasted Quinoa Salad with Peanut Sesame Dressing 🌿

in #food7 years ago

DSCF6072-1.jpg

Good day fellow steempunks. I hope you are all doing well and having a great day. My life is getting so busy right now. I have so much to do before we can take a few days off while traveling to Europe. Though we are going for 3 weeks, unfortunately, it will not be 3 weeks of holiday. We are going to a big expo for my hubby's new crypto community building project (Peerity.io) in Barcelona and in between I'll keep posting yummy recipes and travel adventures.

I also plan on cooking for family and friends, while working on the new website and 8-week healthy lifestyle transformation plan which will hopefully be ready by the end of the year. Luckily we are early risers so we can work in the morning and take the rest of the day off to spend with our loved ones.

Then when we come back, I'm heading to the coast to look for a new house and move everything down.... exciting times but very busy times. I can barely contain my excitement to see how both of our projects will evolve and go live.

But I also realize that we can't get caught up in our work too much and that we have to take as much time as we can for our beloved family and friends. Through our projects are like little babies, family and friends are still our number one and I can't wait to see them again.

And of course be prepared to see a berry dish popping up every day..... looking forward to using all kinds of berries and parsnips.... miss those foods so much. I plan on bringing seeds and I hope the fertile jungle/coastal soil will grow them for us in the near future....

But enough about my life. How are you all doing? What is getting you excited lately? Any big events coming up?

Ingredients (serves 2-3)


For the salad


3/4-1 cup uncooked quinoa, we used tricolor
2 cups shredded red/purple cabbage
1/4 cup finely chopped spring onions
1 cup finely chopped celery
1 cup cubed cucumber

For the dressing


1 tbsp peanut butter (we used homemade)
1 tbsp sesame oil
1/2 lime, juice only
1 tbsp soy sauce
Black pepper to taste
Water if needed

Directions


  1. Cook the quinoa according to the instructions on the package.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine all dressing ingredients. Whisk well to combine. Use water the thin if needed. We used homemade peanut butter which has a harder consistency so we added a little water.
  3. Cut all veggies. Combine in a large bowl. Toss to combine.
  4. In a skillet with cooking oil, toast quinoa.
  5. Allow to cool slightly and add to the veggie mix. Toss to combine and divide over bowls or plate. Drizzle with peanut dressing.

DSCF6061.JPG

DSCF6063.JPG

DSCF6068-1.jpg

DSCF6084-1.jpg

Enjoy 😋


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Food is certainly the staff of life good stuff!

It sure is! Thanks for your comment @oneluv!

Looks yummy, might give it a go once I get home!

Thanks. Let me know if you liked it! Enjoy the rest of your week.

Yes and yes! Thanks, looks great.

Thanks @gigantomachia. Glad you like it.

Dang that looks yummy! Going to try this one I love nut & seed dressings - especially sesame/tahini dressings. Inspiring as always ^_^

Thanks @kaykunoichi! We are seed and nut dressing lovers too. Especially with the homemade peanut butter. So good. Have a lovely day ;)

Mmmm, looks refreshing! love how you called us all SteemPunks lol!

Would u server this particular one cold or try to get it out while it's still hot?

In the past, I've made quinoa with sautéed onions and bell peppers, added goat cheese and dried cranberries & sometimes either cashews or pecans!

Turns out pretty good if you ever get the opportunity to try that out. You want to add all the other ingredients almost directly after so that they stay hot!

Thanks, @jaybird for the tip. Sound lovely. If I ever can get my hands on cranberries I'll give it a try. This salad you can either serve cold or hot. I love the hot toasted quinoa but since all other ingredients are cold it works cold too.

Oh rite, those are hard to come by where u are right?

I wonder if u could use another dried fruit instead?

And yea, i've had it both ways, hot and cold. Either works !

I always bring goji berries with me when traveling so usually I have a stock of that laying around. I bet they taste great in that dish too.... I'm also experimenting with making harder types of cheese with seeds and nuts. Have a great day ;)

Just started Weight Watchers. This is much appreciated!

Good luck. Lots of fresh fruits and veggies and no processed foods or sugar are the keys to successful weight loss.

This looks amazing! definitely going to have to try it, especially seeing how much I love purple cabbage... Yum!

Thanks @blossommasonrose. I'm sure you will love this on. the peanut butter sauce pairs so well with the cabbage. Yum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48