Smoothie of The Day: Red Sun Strawberry Beet Morning Boost

in #food7 years ago

red-beet-strawberry.jpg

Smoothie time on my side of the world! Since my mom and dad planted red beets in their garden and they do not know what to do with them I decided to use more red beets in my dishes and share them with them. We can't let those beautiful homegrown beets go to waste, right?

Though I still need to get my dad on the green smoothie bandwagon... and to be honest I think I might have exhausted all the possibilities, my mom loves her green drinks and has one every single day. I reckon my dad will never love them and that's just fine. Everybody has a different standard and taste pallet and I'm already happy that he is eating so much more veggies and less bread and almost no processed foods. Salads for lunch with homegrown lettuce instead of a sandwich with processed deli meats was a big step.

Also eating fewer potatoes (his plate was always filled with potatoes and meat and a small portion of one veg) and adding an extra veggie to his dinners instead is something to be proud of! Well done mom and dad for taking your health serious while still enjoying every bit of your life!

red-beet-strawberry-1.jpg

Ingredients (serves 2)


2 cups fresh spinach
2 cups coconut water
2 cups strawberries (fresh or frozen)
1 banana (frozen for extra creaminess)
1/2 cup raw red beet, roughly chopped
1/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
2 tbsp hemp hearts

Directions


  1. Blend spinach and coconut water until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw everything in at once.
  2. Top with superfoods such as hemp hearts if you like.

red-beet-strawberry-2.jpg

Have a healthy and happy day ;)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Not gonna lie... That sounds delicious

Hehe! Thanks @jonny-clearwater! We loved every sip of it ;)

good post and interesting. It's very tasty food and very good for health. I love your post @amy-goodrich.
I am new comer in platform steemit. Please help me.
Follow @nonasweety

Hi Amy, Yes, you did the right thing by not letting these beets go wasted. I enjoyed reading your post. Steemit is amazing platform as it not only brings for conversing with people like you. Let's grow together. Upvoted.

Unfortunately, my parents and I live in different continents so I didn't get to taste them :(. But I'm providing them with the inspiration to use their beets in creative and yummy ways. Thanks for your comment ;)

Trying it out tomorrow!! Thanks for the knowledge.

I hope you like it as much as we did!

For got to get the things, but tomorrow. In the mean While re-steem it

Thanks @maxjoy! I hope you like it as much as we did.

Very delicious post. I want to keep visiting this place to could not resist following you. Upvoted.

Thanks @ugetfunded! Glad you like my recipes.

Definitely thumbs up for this!

Thanks @kimzwarch. Glad you like this one. It is so good for you!

Good for you for helping your parents eat healthier. My husband is still in the no green smoothies for me category but I'm happy when my daughter whips one up for me. I've never really had a taste for beets but whenever I've had a smoothie that included them I actually like it. Might have to add this one to my smoothie rotation. Thanks.

I love the earthy flavor but it is definitely not for everyone. I'm so glad my hubby loves green smoothies too. They are so good for you. thanks for sharing your thoughts with me. have a great day ;)

Looks very tempting can't wait to give it test

Enjoy! And thanks for your support and comment @oneluv

Yay... i saw how you try to make the first shot a red sun.

Hehe! I really enjoyed the color of this smoothie. Thanks for your comment ;)

wow, I appreciate you sharing this smoothie plus the recipe ...good one indeed and thanks 😀

Thank you so much @charles1!

welcome, always my dear one...have a blessed weekend and feel free to see my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73