The blue and yellow place and those damned good meatballs

in #food5 years ago

20190412_183916_2.jpg

The revolving door turned for the last time and I was ushered into the foyer with a rush of cool air from outside. No concierge greeted me, no waiter in a black suit and bow tie...My table wasn't reserved nor set with cutlery, nay, it didn't even have a table cloth upon it to buffer it's hard vinyl surface, but it awaited me nonetheless, and I awaited it.

I could have gone anywhere to dine however I chose this place, the hankering for Swedish meatballs, completely traditional of course, was too great to deny. So I entered the big blue and yellow building braving the screaming kids, buyers looking for more cheap items to festoon their homes with for a brief time prior to throwing it all out and starting over...And the possible threat of germs, disease or illness from cheap food made in bulk just to get my mouth around some of those tasty little roundish things drizzled in sauce with a scoop of mushed potato's on the side. Glorious.

The cutlery clanged slightly as I put them down on the plate, the perfectly clean plate. Not loud enough to be heard above the din in the dining room though; I don't think a jumbo jet crashing into a china shop would be heard above the cacophony made by the people in this dining room, let alone the sound of another set of cutlery being retired. I looked around wondering if I could abide the environment for another minute or two, do some people-watching maybe, but decided it was not something I'd like to risk. One of these screaming kids may end up really having something to scream about. So I left.

I was sated. Had had my Swedish meatball fix and all for the low price offered by the establishment to get people in the door. I wondered for a moment at how food could be so cheap here but decided lingering on that conundrum might lead my logical mind to places I didn't want it to go considering I'd just eaten my fill. And so I remained blissfully unaware.

The fresh air outside was welcome, but not as welcome as the sound of silence. Well, the sound of traffic noise that sounded much like silence to my poor ears after the assault they had undergone in the big blue and yellow building. I made my way to my car and as I turned onto the main road looked over wondering why I bothered to come down here for lunch considering the noise, questionable quality and risk of kid-germs but knowing, deep inside, I'll be back. It's those damned meatballs you know; I have no clue as to their ingredients, but am their willing slave nonetheless.

Sort:  

Hahaha this was sooo good. I like your writing style. I think it also really speaks to me because ive been to IKEA twice in the past two weeks. I've furnished my entire home from IKEA thus far. My wife and I are doing a two year expat in France so I am literally one of the people you spoke about in your story. The ones festooning our house in Ikea, waiting to throw it all out and start over shortly thereafter hahaha. We hope to sell our stuff or give it away though when we are finished with it. We will see how that goes.
Anyway dont think too hard on what those meatballs are made of :)

Thanks @leaky20 - It probably sounds judgmental, my comment about the buyers in IKEA and yet, even as I type this about 50 percent of the items in the room surrounding me are from said outlet. And besides...I don't just use IKEA...I EAT it! :)

Two years in France sounds terrible...I don't know how you'll cope. That's clearly sarcasm. Thanks for mentioning you have two years in France, that doesn't make me jealous at all. Again, sarcasm. i wouldn't want to be there myself, too many French people. Yep, sarcasm!

We love France, been there a few times and will go again. It's a long way from Australia though.

So...Now you know know why I'm so good at sarcasm. All Aussies are...Or want to be, or should be or are in training to be. :)

Thanks for responding, always appreciated when someone reads my ramblings and takes the time to reply.

No judgement taken.
Good to know that you're sarcastic. I'll keep that in mind.
:)

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 2.24% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @allover! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87