Good to the last drop... of BLOOD?!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Usually, we'll make our own sponge cakes and angel food cakes, but this particular evening we were hit by a sweet tooth, and thought it would just be easier to buy a "starter" from Fairway Market and top it off as we'd like, not to mention "pineapple coconut" sounded rather enticing as well. While it didn't look quite as "exotic" as the one pictured, it was delicious nonetheless.


(source: wikipedia)

But, as you may have guessed, that's not really what this story is about. As a long-time card-carrying member of the "Clean Plate Club", I generally hate letting anything go to waste. As such, I may have taken things a bit too far when trying to extract the last remaining crumbs. After the container is emptied out, there's still usually a layer of cake covering the entire inner surface. Not wanted to let any of this go to waste, I went on extracting any last remnants I could with my thumb and forefinger. Until all of a sudden I yelped, while simultaneously wondering where all the raspberry jam was coming from?!

Apparently, I had underestimated just how sharp that inner edge of the container really is. That's to say, the edge of the container where the paper cup and the tin connect. In retrospect, it seems pretty obvious that this is a pretty terrible and rather dangerous design choice. I would have figured that the sharp edge would have at least been sealed over, but as the saying goes, "Assumption is the mother of all F'ups"...

That razor sharp edge sliced right through the top of my thumb and left a "lovely" paper-thin 1/2 inch gash in my now gushing finger, spewing enough blood to wet even the most blood-thirsty vampires' lustful desires! 😱

Now, at this point you may be wondering why I'd bother to share this rather gory story. Sometimes in life, it's not what happens to you, but how you deal with it that's more important. There's a little trick I once learned that would come in very handy for this situation, and that's by using Super Glue to "seal" the wound!

Super Glue...?!

Since it was such a clean and straight cut, all I had to do was keep the skin tightly together, remove the tissue for long enough to place a single drop of glue over the cut, then soak up any remaining glue with the tissue and hold together for a few more seconds until it dried. Within 15 seconds or so, the glue had dried, and I picked off any remaining tissue residue. After a few minutes, it almost felt as if the entire episode had never happened.

Several times that evening, I even managed to bump my "sore thumb" again. You ever just have "one of those days"?! I may have felt a slight "pinch", but everything stayed together and intact. It's been "smooth sailing" ever since.

Now, just to be clear, I would only recommend doing this in situations where there is a very clean and smooth cut involved. You don't want any of this stuff getting into your body. Surface only, and never use it near your eyes, or other highly delicate areas. And certainly never for anything that would require using more than a single drop. The interesting thing about this is that hospitals and emergency rooms use this technique as well in certain situations, although they may use a "pharmaceutical" grade of Super Glue. However, the active ingredients are more or less the same. Here is one article about it from the Mayo Clinic:

Link: Should super glue be in your first aid kit?

A few additional interesting tidbits can be found in this article as well:

Its wound-sealing attributes were noted in the Vietnam War, when medics used it before sending troops on to surgery. .. These glues are made from the chemical cyanoacrylate. In addition to its usefulness in stopping bleeding in a pinch, it has been associated with less scarring than other methods of closing wounds. But it has some downsides: it can irritate skin, kill cells, and aggravate infections.

It's also a technique I know well from playing the guitar. Sometimes, if I haven't played for a while the tips of my fingers will blister up again from playing too much. A few drops of super glue over your finger tips, and you're all set to get back to "riffing" away! As Dr. Weil describes:

I’ve also heard that stringed-instrument players sometimes make protective "fingertip caps" out of the glue.

Link: Super Glue For First Aid?

BUT... my super glue's always dried out by the time I need it!

One of the biggest problems I've always found with Super Glue is that if it's been opened, it's inevitably always dried up by the time you need to use it again. That was, at least, until I discovered this little "secret" of keeping my tube in a ziplock bag at the back of the refrigerator. Since I've done that, I've been using the same tube now for well over a year. And even better, I always have some ready and available for any emergencies that may present themselves.

The version I used is this 4-pack HDX brand Super Glue from Home Depot:

However, as described in the comments of this article, some people also swear by the gel version as well:

Mandy: I work in the dangerous world of mail delivery and cannot count the number of paper cuts I’ve received over the years. I used to use regular superglue, once I tried the Loctite brand gel control super glue, I’ve never looked back! I’ve never had a bad reaction to it and by the time the glue works itself off, the cut is usually healed. I frequently use it over joints or in the creases of my hands. I just sliced my finger several layers deep (I probably should have gone in for a stitch) with a kitchen knife and once I got the bleeding slowed enough I put a couple of thin layers of Loctite on it and taped it with gauze to keep my finger straight. I’ll charge myself $2,000 later ;-)

Link: THE COMPLETE GUIDE TO USING SUPER GLUE FOR CUTS

FINALLY...

As always, use a bit of sound judgment, along with some more research to better prepare yourself if you anticipate that this "trick" might come in handy for you some day. If you've got a 6 inch gash down your leg, you're likely still better off paying a visit to the emergency room, especially if there's a good chance that an infection could set in. But for those inevitable nicks and cuts that may come along the way, this solution may not only save you a whole lot of time and money (and a bout of pain and suffering), but it might also turn out to be "just what the doctor orders"!


As always, I appreciate your upvote, your follow and all your comments!

Sort:  

It was really a naughty devil's food cake hungry for red velvet!

naughty devil vampire cake?! lol

Just in time for Halloween ; )

Thank you for your post. I usually use new skin, but have wondered about super glue as well. Thanks will try it out. 🐓🐓

Would you look at that, another food blogger here.

not quite, this was more of a "one off". I think I'll still be leaving most of the food blogging up to @michellectv! But I must say some of your food posts look quite delicious, and I've gotta also add that your kitty cats are all just way too adorable for words to describe! :)

Welcome back from your trip too, btw!

Thank you, I am happy to be back myself even though I did get sick pretty much upon arrival, it was still very warm when I was leaving Crimea.
I agree, michellectv makes very well crafted food!

oh sorry to hear that you got sick, those temperature changes often seem to catch me off guard too lately, especially as the seasons transition. Perhaps there will be a "chicken soup to warm the heart, body, and soul" post in our near future! :)

Hahaha it is funny you mentioned it! Because there was chicken soup and I ate it, too late to write about it now! However, me and my friend @spurious-claims were canning today, there will be a post about it, I'm tired now though haha

well there ya go, nothing better than a hot chicken soup to make you start feeling a whole lot better! lol also look forward to checking out your canning post! :)

Indeed! I should probably make soups more often, it is very rare that we eat them haha
Thank you!

hummmm....Would like to try it.

You are to be congratulated on a fair and balanced discussion, the benefits and cautions when treating a thin cut with super glue. People tend to forget the dangers of infection when self-treating, and you cover all the bases. Just a word of warning: Be more careful where you stick your fingers next time!

Thank you for the kind words. I wouldn't want anyone to hurt themselves by making careless assumptions, and infections are always a very real risk that one should be aware of, especially if the cut is deep enough to have created an opportunity for dirt, bacteria, or other foreign objects to enter the wound.

Great job, keep the posts coming. Really enjoyed reading this, thank you for sharing :)

thanks for the kind words @firepower, glad you enjoyed the post and hope you found it helpful too for any future "nicks" you may encounter! :)

I feel like I just wisted the life tip fairy, I didn't know of either of those life hacks, thanks!
Off to glue my fingers, just in case, gotta be prepared for any situation, so I am gonna do it before the accident even happens :D

Joke to the curb, those are really helpful, I don't know how many super glue tubes I have thrown out, because they have dried up.

and to think, I was under the impression you might have enjoyed this article for the "blood spurting", vis-a-vis your "Dimension" saga...! ;) lol

I actually don't like being around blood that much :P
Turns out I rather not live in some of my stories :D

Nice! I thought you were going to say you got to the end of the cake and SOMEONE ELSE'S blood was all over the middle part. Yikes! Probably pretty good that it was actually just your own. I have heard the same from a doctor in an ER about using super glue. He said he was in Mexico and cut his foot on a rock and went to the local drugstore and got a tube of regular super glue and used that. Good as new for the rest of the trip. He said there is medical grade but they are basically the same and use what you have in an emergency. Thanks for the post. Nice for you to back up what I've heard. Maybe I needed a refresher!

yeah, that would have been pretty horrible to find someone else's blood in there, maybe along with an extra finger or something! although, I think I may have once heard a story not so far off from that, so it's probably not that far-fetched to imagine!

And as the doctor described, that really is one of the best parts of this "technique". Not only is it a great way to stop the potentially rapid loss of blood, but you're often almost immediately back in business and ready to go, as opposed to constantly worrying if some activity will cause the wound to rip apart and turn into a geyser all over again.

When I was younger my dad was eating his favorite snack and bit into a RAT TAIL in it!!! Complete with hairs. Finding a human finger would probably be worse. ;)

yeah, that's pretty horrible too, bleechhhhhhhh! I won't bring up the time years back when we found a cucaracha in our soy sauce when eating out at a restaurant one night!

Oh man, that's nasty!! We all have fun stories, huh? SOOOO gross!!!!

I blurted a lot of 'OMGs' reading this story. I was totally entertained and also educated on the uses and storage of super glue 👍🏼. Stupid question: when you say 'back of the fridge', is that behind the fridge or 'inside the fridge, towards the back'? I can certainly use the tip as I find mine to be single use/disposable.

Thank you for the kind words @offoodandart, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I don't think it should really matter which part of the fridge your store it in, since generally the temperature is about even throughout. The "back of the fridge" was more about sticking it somewhere out of the way, since it's not likely something you'll be reaching for all that often. In that regard, I think you'll be fine whichever part of the refrigerator you choose to store it in.

Got it @alexpmorris! Will try it out the next time I have super glue as what I have now has dried up.

Thanks for the Glue tip but where is the recipe for that cake?? Am I missing it? is this a torture post? :)

recipe please?! as @gringalicious would say, thanks for asking! lol

  • Beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks, and then add cream of tartar, vanilla extract, and almond extract.
  • Sift together flour, sugar, and salt. Repeat five times.
  • Gently combine the egg whites with the dry ingredients, and then pour into an ungreased 10 inch tube pan.
  • Place cake pan in a cold oven. Turn the oven on; set it to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Cook for about one hour, or until cake is golden brown.
  • Invert cake, and allow it to cool in the pan. When thoroughly cooled, remove from pan.

Link: Angel Food Cake Recipe

You may also enjoy these fine delectables by @michellectv:

Link: Mini Lemon Cupcakes with Mascarpone Frosting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16