Food Frenzy #1 : Herbs-Chili and Fried Onion Shortbread!!!

Hello my lovely Steemians!

This post is actually my entry in the latest cooking contest launched by @nidhisrecipes which is named : FOOD FRENZY

Before discovering my entry in the contest, I would like to spread the word for this cooking contest and would be great if all my foodie friends could have a look into this contest and hopefully join in to make it a success same like Steemit Iron Chef.

Check the launch of FOOD FRENZY by @nidhisrecipes here!


Coming back to my entry, I was craving for some shortbread today...Not the usual ones though!!! Well I tried mixing some unusual ingredients to the shortbread dough and the results were just amazing!
I made 2 types of shortbread; one with herbs and chili and the second one with fried onion!!!
Check below how I made them!

DSC_0019.JPG


For the shortbread dough, I used the following:

  • Flour 250gms
  • Salted butter 125gms
  • Vanilla sugar 1 packet
  • Icing sugar 60gms
  • Egg 1 pc
  • Pinch of salt

DSC_0002.JPG


To have a great shortbread, follow the below steps carefully...

I first started by mixing all the dry ingredients; flour, icing, vanilla sugar and pinch of salt.

DSC_0003.JPG


Then I added the softened butter and start mixing with my hands on the working table.
You can use a dough mixer, but you get best results using your hands!!!

DSC_0004.JPG


Once you get the sandy texture, time to add the whole egg and knead more.

DSC_0005.JPG


Don't overwork the dough or the butter will melt with the heat of your hand and it will be difficult to get it right.
Once you get the below dough, cover with plastic film and let rest in the fridge for 45 minutes.

DSC_0006.JPG


After the 45 minutes rest, I added cumin powder, thyme, curry leaves and chili flakes to half of the dough to get the first variety of shortbread.

DSC_0009.JPG


In the second half, I added freshly fried crispy onion to get the second flavor.

DSC_0011.JPG


Roll the dough and cut in the desired form.

DSC_0012.JPG


Delicately put the cut dough on parchment paper ready to go in the oven!

DSC_0013.JPG


Cook at 180 degrees celcius for about 18 minutes and you'll get the below result!

DSC_0015.JPG


This is the fried onion flavored shortbread!

DSC_0017.JPG


And the herbs-chili ones!

DSC_0019.JPG


Let them cool down and they are ready to eat!
You can store them in a air-tight container for several days!

DSC_0020.JPG


I had a lot of these today for tea time and I really loved the amazing taste they got!
You can try many different flavors, it all depends on what you want.
Now you have the dough recipe...you just have to add any herbs or spices you wish!

I really wanted to participate in FOOD FRENZY by @nidhisrecipes to show some support to her and I am so glad to have been able to do it.
Thank you @nidhisrecipes for putting this up and helping us discover some more amazing dishes from around the world!

I will again ask all my foodie friends to check this contest out and show some love!

I hope you enjoyed my entry!

Do you like it!? Then try it!

By following me you will discover more and more surprising recipes!

Please do comment below if you want some more info!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

Never thought about seasoning shortbread! Thank you for the awesome idea!

With the fresh herbs you got in your garden, you can make awesome flavored shortbread my friend!

Yes! And pair it up with some nice aged cheese or burrata!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @progressivechef to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Yummyy and tasty..
good working and nice photoshot...

Thanks so much for stopping by and showing some support my friend! Really appreciate!

very detailed.. great!!!

I made it easy for everyone to understand the recipe my friend! Thanks so much for stopping by!

This recipe looks so delicious! I love shortbread! I am totally going to try it!
Have a great day my friend!

That spicy-ness in the shortbread is absolutely so yummy my friend! Do make different flavors, you'll enjoy for sure!

Hi Bro@progressivechef... It's nice, wishing you all the best...
..

Thanks so much sister! I am so happy when I see that you enjoy my dish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76