FOMO It's Not Just For Crypto!

in #fomo6 years ago


FOMO.jpg

Crypto trading has taught me so much. It's taught me how to be more responsible with my money. It's taught me about investing, risk management, inflation, interest and everything else that comes with finances. Most importantly though it has taught me about FOMO. Fear Of Missing Out!

FOMO can be a traders worst enemy. The few times I've taken a serious crypto ass kicking on an alt, was because I "bought in" on rumors, diving in head first out of fear that if I didn't act in that exact moment all was lost! That never works out! At least for me it never has. This is such an important lesson for every trader to learn. Acting impulsively in this game is the easiest way to lose money, and lose it fast. The markets will always present new opportunities. Occasionally you just have to let one get away!

So this morning I went to look at a new motorcycle at the dealership and things just didn't work out. I don't want to get into too much detail about it, but my decision to buy a new bike was based on a need to build credit. I could of swung it, but by the end of the day it would of affected my trading capital and I decided against it. The old me would of said screw it and just did it. I wasn't even close to over extending myself, but the new crypto me decided now wasn't the time. I sort of chuckled to myself as I thought, "The market will present new opportunities, just let it go."

I left the dealership a little disappointed, but can't help but think that by the end of the summer something better will come along. Now just wasn't the time. I did learn some interesting information on credit reporting, and already discovered how to fix the issue. So I wait a couple months, keep shopping, and the next time I approach this issue I'll be better prepared, get a better interest rate, and hopefully an even better motorcycle!

FOMO! It's not just a lesson in trading, but a practical life lesson as well.

Sort:  

FOMO...It ain't easy, that's for sure. Glad you made the choice with patience. It certainly would have been a struggle for me to 'just let it go.' Keep it strong, bro. -Respect

Yeah, it was a bizarre situation actually. I'll probably write more on this down the road. I honestly don't think the guy new what he was doing. I also have one of those, "If it was meant to be, it'll go smoothly attitudes" and this obviously wasn't meant to be LOL. Have a great weekend man.

Not mad at you @the-bitcoin-dood

That's why I buy a third 1\3 33% at a time and break that third and sell in thirds!!!

Buy the DIP!!!
Sell the RIP!!!

Don't worry mate!

You going to get that bike, don't sweat it!

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Thanks man! That's a good technique too. I buy and sell in a similar manner. I generally buy in price ranges, and try to fill a set amount on each buy. If it falls below I'll buy more, and if it rises I'll either start selling in small amounts or wait for my target price to start selling. I never sell everything at once & usually keep a small part of my position.

FOMO is real and an everyday battle in many aspects of life. Nice job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87