Getting rid of the elephant - I just unfollowed 1250 Steemians and I feel much better

in #follower6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Getting rid of the elephant - I just unfollowed 1250 Steemians and I feel much better


I have moved all my content away from the now centralized and controlled Steem blockchain to the decentralized Hive blockchain.

Sort:  

I think this is a really good decision, because in the end I think it's quality over quantity, and to be able to focus. It's much more nice with a feed u can actually follow properly and have enough time to see all posts

Hey Dan, you are actually one of those people that I missed the most because before I started to follow a million people I read your posts regularly and then I stopped entirely. Cannot blame you for getting silent as well. Thanks for not giving up on me. :D

I'm always here buddy :) Now we have awesome times ahead !

I'd be interested to help with MySteem, do you have a link to the github repo?

That would be awesome! Here is the official GitHub repo which is still empty. I will upvote all contributions with the @utopian-1up trail and you can earn extra by posting it via Utopian.io. Step 1: Fork the Steemline repo from @mkt and replace the logo with the one above. That's all. After that we can figure out how to continue! Let me know when you are done and I will merge your work with MySteem.

Have a lot to do today, working on a tutorial for my class later, but if I don't get to it today, will definitely get on it tomorrow!

I am on Discord if you have any questions. Probably online for the next 10 hours or so.

I can imagine your steemit feeds much better and relevant what you like. I am also planning to unfollow non-related stuff users

Hey man, long time no hear. We had a head-to-head run for a while. But you took a while off, didn't you?

Yeah I am mainly a trader
Forex trader
Crypto trader
A full time job holder

So I was busy in my other stuff.

I was working on my trading system in forex. New methods to generate profits. Generating 10 to 20% profit per month

Crypto market is stabilizing so will be trading some crypto as well.

So you can imagine my time distribution

I get that. I became a full-time Steemian way before I could actually afford it. But I did it anyway and now it feels just right.

I only follow 10 people for a reason.
You are among them for a reason.
You know why.

Steemit is full of trash posts, full of people that don't take this Crypto serious. Full of people that quit, full of people that have no dedication.

My upvotes are only for people that are in my community on Discord. Only my team matters for me here on Steem.

Hehe, I am glad to be in your small circle! I liked your blog before we even exchanged the first words. :)

I think most people get caught up in adding everyone when they first start on Steemit believing that following many people will in turn help you also gain more followers. I quickly overcame that idea and honestly making Steem has now become a distant second to just enjoying good articles written by people who care about growing Steemit as a community. I'll follow someone like you as it seems you are here for the right reasons and post good quality content.

I still tend to follow new people that seem interesting and create good content but look through my feed about once every 2 weeks and unfollow a few to keep it clear if I don't feel they add value to my feed and in turn add value to my life. I do this with all my social media actually. FB is the worst for this, adding "friends" but realising they add no value to your life so I just delete them now.

I've noticed a huge increase in the spam department where every man and his dog is commenting upvote, resteem and follow, just like the Youtube spam like, comment and subscribe and it grows very old.

Right, so it is up to us to cut through the crap and find the few that actually will make a difference for us. I don't think it is a problem for Steem as long as good tools pop up that allow us to handle things.

Yeeeahhhh flauwy.

I have to look closer to your project but I like that you are trying to build something helpful​ for this community.:)

Juhu, I think I did the right thing because the right people start to comment on my posts again. I really missed having you around. I try to stay more active with reading your posts as well!

My friend, I was for a long time out. I had so much to do with my profession and private matters that I couldn't​ use Steemit so often. The good news is that next week I have holidays^^

I am glad you are back, both on a personal matter as well for my upvote. I appreciate your support! ;)

We'll, I just checked and fantastic news, I managed to avoid being purged from your list! On behalf of all the survivors on your follow list, I'd like to say thank-you for your kind appreciative words for us. It just makes my day.

I wish I knew something about programing to help out but this isn't my line.

As far a clean feed is concerned, I'd like to be able to set the default setting to "new" my favorite posts.

I'd like to be able to go in my followed list and immediately see who has made new posts recently. That's on my requested gift list to Santa.

I guess you provide good ideas as to how to manage that followed home wall. I think mine too could benefit from a purge too, although I always like to give a chance to some new writer once in a while as it is always encouraging to get new followers. Maybe I'll replace a few with guys on your list since they have already been evaluated and picked!

Haha, no worries for my memory sports friends. ;)

Programmers are getting rich on Steem if they are playing it smart. We need way more tools than we have now and some of them will create constant Steem flows for the devs.

Steemit should be a function where you can filter out certain tags from your feed. I also like to have nice an clean home wall with only content that interests me. I personally don't care about photography whatsoever and all the photochallenges, the meme challenges, the googlyeyes, getting the same thing resteemed multiple times. This simple function could fix this.

It will come! They have already teased that on Steemfest and promised to give filters to seperate all the different platforms and much more.

Nice, it's easy to forget Steemit is still in beta afterall.
I'm really looking forward what the future will bring

yup...I did that same exact think several months ago.
I cut several thousand.
right now I follow about a hundred.
and I'm feeling the urge to prune..

You might also like the fact that I turned my back entirely on upvote bots - and that even before the SBD price shot up. It was very hard for me the first weeks but I am happy as it is now!

"I'll have my machine get with your machine" is NOT a social media.
Voting-Bots, chat-bots and comment-bots have no place on Steemit.

I'm probably making about one tenth what I would if I didn't discourage bots..
I recall back in the day...before hardfork 19...when I'd get a 'bot swarm' thirty minutes after I made a post...almost to the second....sometimes there were hundreds of them..

right now my average vote count is a bout 20ish per post.
almost all of them minnows..

I feel good about it...it's real.

Good Man.

Yeah I agree. I thought it is free money but it wasn't. Maybe you got lucky here and there but usually it is a very calculated game where you barely make anything. Even worse: it gives you the illusion that you are doing well and that people like what you do. I had to relearn Steemit when I stopped using them.

the harder I work the luckier I get.
and sturgeons law..

SO.
I try to make ten or twenty posts a day and dozens of comments..
make all the mistakes I can
then get to the GOOD stuff.

That is actually not the worst strategy I heard. Kind of hard though. How much time do you spend on Steemit each day? I am on most of the day but am rather ineffective regarding the time I spend here.

I'm on steemit when I'm awake.
except for a few hours a day sitting on the patio smoking and thinking about what my next post will be, thinking about what to do next on my boat...or working on the boat.

Over ten hours a day easy I'd guess...perhaps fifteen..when I don't work on the boat.

Nice one. Are building a new boat or working on a an existing boat?

I can't wait for this new tool! So many of us Steemians feel the same way. It held me back for several months when I had zero desire to have a blog filled with semi-random posts, even if I really respect and support the subject matter. I tend to go through boom and purge periods with my following as well. This new management tool for post-streams will be GREAT! Upped 10% and (still) following! @dakini5d

Yeah, it will be a very cool tool to keep an eye on interesting people and projects!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24