A TROPICAL TRANSPLANT TO THE SOUTH, photography for WednesdayYellow ColorChallenge

in #flowers7 years ago

This glorious yellow hibiscus flower hails from the Louisiana Deep South.

Although the plant does well in the warm and humid climate, it is actually a tropical transplant. The plant grows best in a tropical climate, very wet, very warm and usually in close proximity to the beach. Well, change the sand out for mud and you have the same climate in Louisiana. So, the plant took to the area well and is still a staple landscaping plant to this day.

Why do I love Hibiscus flowers so much?

My mother grew up a military brat. Her and her siblings were born all across the US and despite growing up in different states at different ages they all agree on one thing: Hawaii was the best! When they moved back to our homestate, Louisiana, my grandmother spent a small fortune in time and money to get some of the tropical Hawaiian flowers into her garden there. The hibiscus plant took to the garden the best and turned into a massive bush that threatened cars on the driveway.

One of my fondest memories of that garden is receiving a carefully plucked hibiscus flower to tuck behind my ear. Perfection!

https://supload.com/SJ-KRSJlIl

View My Portfolio

“Educating yourself does not mean that you were stupid in the first place; it means that you are intelligent enough to know that there is plenty left to learn.”

-Melanie Joy

Thanks to @kalemandra for creating the ColorChallenge.


Until next time my friends,

@jennswall

website, twitter, facebook

https://supload.com/BktOXpczb

The photo(s) in this post are property of @jennswall.
Do not steal, re-use, copy or distribute this image without my consent.
(Re-steeming is fine.)
(Upvoting is also ok)


posts followers rep curation

Sort:  

I wonder if this plant also could grow in austria? Upvoted this post. Would be cool if you help me with my milliondollarpost aswell :-D Cheers!

What type of climate do you have in Austria? Actually, these flower bushes will grow well in a greenhouse or an inside room with plenty of sunlight and water.

OK, I'm interested. What's your million dollar post? ;)

Well as we are in the midst of europe we have a lot of cold weather. So those kind of plants would really grow excapt in greenhouses as you said. But they are lovely anyway.

Just upvote my million dollar post or resteem it thats all :-D

Thanks

Yeah, just keep it indoors or in a greenhouse where it can stay warmer. I'll look up a stronger version for you that might grow better. The plants all looked a little different when I lived in Germany so that they could withstand the cold, perhaps there is a cool weather variety for you.

good shot! upvoted&followed, look at my photos :)

Thank you, much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76