Sunspot Observation for Flat Earthers

in #flatearth7 years ago


After observing the sunspots rotate across the sun in the same manner that the moon rolls across the sky, I can see that the rotation is only apparent. While we can see that the moon rolls as it crosses the sky, the sun has no landmarks besides the sunspot. Every picture I take of the sun, I make a rough estimate of the "top" and match that to the camera. That's not a very scientific way of doing things. My estimates will vary considerably. In fact, I believe they vary 180 degrees.

My perspective shifts as the sun passes overhead. If I painted an arrow on the sun pointing up at dawn, where would that arrow be pointing as the sun rose, crossed the sky and then sinks into the West? It would start off pointing up, then the arrow would be pointing West, then finally it would be setting with the arrow pointed down. That's what the moon does. It does not roll. We roll beneath it.

The moon remains in the exact same attitude relative to us from moonrise to moonset. To us, rotating on a ball, it seems as though the moon is rotating to the right 180 degrees. This is because our observation of "up" rotates as the world turns from horizon to horizon. So it does with the sun, only it's even more tricky since there are no landmarks to mark the roll. That is, except for the sunspot.

As the sun rolls overhead, so the sunspot rotates around sun's apparent disk. It matches the moon's roll perfectly. So now I know I can ignore the apparent rotation, and concentrate instead on the more gradual left to right displacement of the sunspot. This is why NASA always shows the sunspots passing left to right, not rotating around the circumference. They are simply ignoring the daily rolls and recording the left to right transition.

Sort:  

I really appreciate all the hard work you’ve done to help me.

Interesting. Have always found the skies fascinating. Following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31