5 Facts About Me (Expose Yourselves)

in #fivefacts6 years ago (edited)

This is another challenge on the platform. I was nominated two days ago by my fellow Greek Steemian @filotasriza3 - actually he called for the whole Greek community, so in case you missed his post, I'm letting you know now ;)

What's this all about? Nothing more than the title says... Five Facts About Me!

#1 I was overweight until I turned 21.

A chubby child that grew up to be a fat teenager and later a plump young woman finally decided to zip it and lose about 20 kilos - we 're talking about a lot of weight considering I'm 1.6o meters tall. 

#2 I am a gym addict

All this obesity thing ended with me hitting the gym every day. Not that I am a fitness freak, it's more like a cheap and healthy psychotherapy for me. With my headphones on I put on a show every day, working out, singing and dancing between sets - I am the gym's mascot :P

#3 Stubborn and whiny like hell

My mum keeps telling that I took that from my father. I can be really stubborn and vindictive, a total brat! Oh! and I whine! Yes, I can whine a lot, although I have made very good progress over the years and I am not the bitch I used to be in the past - maybe whining levels decreased with body-fat :P

#4 I have a shoes obsession

I love shoes! I have more than 50 pairs at home. From trainers and sandals to heels and boots, shoes are something I can hardly resist to. Although I must admit that my over-consuming days are over. I think I only got 4 pairs in 2017.

#5 I am a fountain of sarcasm and black humour

I can make fun of almost anything. Not that I do it on purpose, it's just that my mind spits out "poisonous" lines many times during the day. It's like an untamed horse, you try to put on a leash, but it won't obey.

Screw the rules, I'll give you a #6 I have a thing for rhymes, puns and crossword puzzles

I love language, so rebuses and crossword puzzles have always been among my favorite past-time activities. There were summers that I could solve puzzles for 2-3 hours every day. I have also been making up funny rhymes and changing famous song lyrics ever since primary school and my love for puns is quite obvious in some of my posts.


Well, that's all for now. I don't know if all these "facts" have ruined the image you had on your minds about me or if they made you like me more. 

And now, I would like to call for a few of the people I interact over the platform so that we get to know them a little better (names in alphabetical order):

It would be fun if you guys wanted to share some extra personal information with us :)

*Images by @ruth-girl

Thanks a lot for your time and support, if you want to see some more of my posts, follow the links below:

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  
maybe whining levels decreased with body-fat :P

Interesting correlation :)

It has been great to find out more about you @ruth-girl! I will make this 5-facts-about-me challenge, my post for next Friday. This will give my readers a break from mental health topics :)

I must, however, not forget @trumpman's advice "don't wear yourself out writing this post". Very wise words! :P

I will be waiting to read that!! :D

PS: @trumpman was right, but I will put it in other words, give your readers the illusion of having exposed yourself to them, but don't show the deeper layers of you. Those smart enough will deduce more than you ever write and the rest will just get a chance to know a few "harmless" facts about you ;)

I will definitely keep your advice in mind @ruth-girl! Good one :)
:*

You tell this now, after I revealed just about everything about me in my paintings for 30 years 😱

With art it's much more complicated. You expose everything and hide messages and chances are nobody will ever get to "decode" all of them. I think that art is much trickier than writing ;)

Oh how I love a conversation with a clever girl! :-)

Been trying my best to encrypt a lot of things, you are right. Hope nobody will uncover my secret passion.

Hm... why do you think (visual) art is trickier than writing?

Your passion (at least the one you are not afraid to admit to your audience) is quite obvious, but I'm sure there are more things that are left un-noticed.

You can "paint" pictures through writing but it still lies in the imagination of the reader, what they will finally "see" in their minds.

Visual arts are different. You see the picture born in the head of the artist, but what you will "read" depends on your experience, mood, personality. Pictures are concentrated ideas, every detail (at least almost every) bears a meaning you are supposed to discover. There are some universal symbols (like the dove for peace or the heart for love), but in a painting were I see a river flowing and feel calm the painter might see themselves in it. The river could be their journey in life, travelling all the way to the sea are a way to express how they see themselves evolving their technique or mind or both, like a long way the river goes until it reaches its final destination, the vastness of the ocean.

That was just an example, I hope you got my point :)

Hm.. took me some time to think about this. I really like how you describe the difference between a painting and a written text and of course it makes sense.

Coming back to your example with the river... can't it be the same in writing? The text can describe something (the river), but I think it could be just as metaphoric. I wonder if the difference is really that big.

When you read a text, the pictures forming in your head depend on your experience, mood, personality as well. To me painting and writing are just two different ways to express oneself. As the "recipient", you add words to the picture or a picture to the words, but its always a thought or a feeling traveling from one mind to another, isn't it?

I just think that pictures can hold more meanings. You look at a painting that can narrate a person's whole life through coded messages.

Maybe I'm wrong. Your argument sounds just as right :)

Ha! This is so funny! I saw your post in my feed and was like "oooh awesome challenge! I want to do it! Wonder if anyone will tag me..."

And you did.

Thank you, fellow shoe-fanatic and whiny nerd!! <3

Yeah, I thought it would be fun!!

I'm waiting to see what you got, sis! 😍😍😍

My wife and I recently did AncestryDNA kits, and both of us have Greek heritage! All my life, I was told I looked Greek, and now, I have the DNA test to confirm it! My wife was just found by her Greek family, from Cyprus. On my first deployment, I got the absolute pleasure of visiting Rhodes, Greece, and was blown away by not only the beauty, culture and history, but by how crazy friendly EVERYONE was. One day, I'd love to make it back there. I'm also a gym rat, have worked out and stayed in shape for over twenty years now, have a great (but simple) set-up in my garage! AKA, the dungeon.
gym.jpg

Oooh! That sounds amazing! I wanna do that test too when I have the chance. It can change your whole self-perspective. Does the test tell you which parent you get the foreign genes from?
I'm jealous of that dungeon! I have always wanted a gym at home! Let's hope some day I'll get it.

PS: If you visit Greece again, you should also go to Santorini, Milos and Crete in the Aegean, Corfu, Leukada and Zante in the Ionian sea. Save your Steems for a long greek holiday!!!! ;) :P

It did! For most of my life, and my wife's too, we were told we had Native American ancestry. But, neither one of us did! I'm curious as to how many people have had this happen as well. It doesn't specify from what parent it came from. But, I know my mom's side is mainly Eastern European, (Slovak, Polish), it's my father's side that I get the Greek/British/French/Iberian Peninsula/Central Asian parts. I'm a mutt.
A home gym is key, I live nowhere near a city, let alone a small town, so a home gym was the most practical way, plus woodcutting and homesteading chores round off my fitness/strength routine.

I used to work out at home before getting a driver's license. It's the best alternative when you don't have access to a gym and I must admit it, I miss it some times, but the town is just 5 km from where I live so I quit home-excercising.

Have you seen that video? That's what you reminded me of...

Whoa! What a powerful video. That's pretty much how it went! I agree with his statement. "We're all pretty much cousins." If more people did this, we'd realize we're more similar than different.

Soooooooooooo cute, you are gorgeous!!!!

Hehehe! Thank you so much @zest! It's one of my favorite photos :)

I'm waiting for your 5 facts ;)

that's our amazing @ruth-girl! :D ,εγώ δεν θα κάνω αυτό το challenge γιατί τα ποστ το steemit είναι public και παίζει να μου φορέσουν ανάποδο πουκάμισο παραγγελιά απ το Δαφνί

ahhahaahhahaahhahaahhaha

Αχαχαχαχαχαχα! Πολύ θα ήθελα να διαβάσω ένα τέτοιο ποστ από σένα... και μην ανησυχείς, έχω γνωστό ψυχίατρο, θα σου δίνει άδειες συχνά πυκνά :P

η μάνα μου είναι ψυχίατρος και έχει σηκώσει τα χέρια ψηλά εδώ και πολύ καιρό,χαχα

Τώρα εξηγούνται πολλά :Ρ

Quite refreshing, although I knew the important facts already, the genius I am 😎

Funny thing is, that I was considering a "artist behind the art" post... not sure, if I will do it eventually... 👨‍🎨

Hehe! It's the artistic intuition ;)

It seems like somebody else got you first and started this #fivefacts thing, but I would like to see such a post from you as well :)

Arrrgh... yeah, guess I was to slow. You snooze, you loose 😫

Post from/about me? Naaaaa.. have to get over the disappointment of not being nominated first (pout pout) 😑

I wanted to nominate you too, but I had already put you in the 7day photo challenge and didn't know if you'd like to do this too :/

Excuses, excuses......

Just kidding! I understand your thought, and its quite alright, really :-)
And if I wanted to post the five facts, I could do it anyways. Particularly, since with these challenges, everyone gets nominated eventually.. 😁

3 pairs of shoes? This is still reasonable :D

I didn't want to go over the top :P

Your stories have made a lot of fun for you, all of you have worked hard for yourself. I hope you can do much better in the future. I sincerely pray for you. I liked your advice very much. I'm got new joins on this platform. So if you have anything mistake then you will forgive. I hope that you'll definitely help us who we are young. Best wishes for your coming days. Thank you for sharing @ruth-girl

Thank you so much for your lovely words!!
I wish you all the best too! :)

this is very good loved it ... i have been following you since long and you alwasy bring something amazing

Whining and 50 pairs of shoes -- and I just hit the follow button on you. LOL

Hahahaha! I am a girl with weaknesses :P
Thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34