Fitness: No time for exercise? Seize the moment!

in #fitness5 years ago

2gxKuREf3Ck-1.jpg

“I can never find time to exercise,” is a common lamentation I hear from clients, friends and family. I too have a hard time fitting my workouts into my busy schedule, but I’ve learned a few tricks that help me keep down the number of blank days on my workout calendar. So your first tip is to actually keep a workout calendar – print out a blank calendar for the month and record your completed workouts on it. Just looking at a few blank squares is sometimes all the motivation you need to get out there and do something active! But how to find the time to fill those squares? Here are a few ideas:

  • Pre-plan your workout week. Sit down on Sunday night and look at your calendar for the week ahead. Where do you have blocks of time that can be set aside – right now! – for exercise? Put it on your calendar – it’s the most surefire way to see that you make time for exercise.

  • Actively seek out “Activity Opportunities” each day. Turn your lunch break into a lunch walk. Hold a “walking meeting” with that colleague or employee of yours. Stash a resistance band under your desk, stand up and do some curls or tricep extensions every half hour or so. Sit on a stability ball instead of a chair – your back will thank you!

  • Combine exercise with work or errands. I have a friend who jogs to meetings and to run errands. Obviously, if you need to be wearing business attire at your meeting or if you’ll be returning with a bag of groceries, this won’t work. But if you need to drop your car off for an oil change, if you need to buy stamps at the post office, if your dog needs grooming – pick a place within a mile or two of home and get there (or back) on foot. This afternoon, I finished up with a client at 4:30 in a part of town that I knew would be bogged down in rush-hour traffic. I didn’t need to be home until 6:00, so I took the opportunity to go for a 30-minute jog along scenic White Bear Lake. I felt energized and refreshed, and when I jumped back in the car traffic had thinned out and my commute home took me about 15 minutes less than it would have. Net time cost: 15 minutes – what a deal!

C4IHEi8k8mY-2.jpg

  • Be ready to exercise at any moment. Keep a set of workout clothes and an old pair of running or walking shoes in your car. If you find yourself someplace needing to kill time, you’ll be ready. If you have a corporate job downtown, keep a pair of walking shoes at the office and hit the streets or the skyways whenever you have 15 or 20 minutes to spare. (If you have clients visiting from out of state, hold a “walking meeting” with them in the skyways. Out-of-towners are always interested and impressed by the skyways for some reason!) Work out at the gym after work to avoid rush hour.

You can probably think of some ways to “seize the moment” yourself. I’d love to hear them. Leave me a comment. But first, get off the computer and go move your body!

JwFPEc927GM-1.jpg

Sort:  

Greetings, dear Tanata

Great post. I think, for these time-related issues, they involve our priorities. Someone may complain that they do not have time to exercise, but spend hours of the day doing something non-productive.

You are beautiful in the pictures.

Thank you and good morning!

Gotta stay active and keep moving whenever you can, I agree! I'm finding the steem app @actifit to be helpful. I am in the habit now of posting my exercise activity on there every day. It helps me to stay motivated to move!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

a very positive thing to keep yourself from exercising

dayum! get it tanata! have a great week. crush those goals.

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

That body!!!😍

I lke your post dear Tanata. Have you sexy body!

Interesting post, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05