Train With Jane: Workout Of The Day 02/18 | Lower Body

in #fitness6 years ago

IMG_1609.JPG


I’m coming down with a cold..thank you Spencer.


It’s important to listen to your body when it’s starting to feel run down. On Monday-Friday I was more active than usual, and Spencer was sick earlier on last week and I caught it. So I spent yesterday taking it easy and taking care of myself. Today I felt up for a workout but I will be remaining under the sheets drinking tea and eating soup this Sunday. I also had two cheat meals this weekend, one of them being pancakes at 9pm out of my fasting window. SO I felt it was only right to burn some calories today. I decided to do my favorite, leg day.


My Workout


LISS Cardio 20 Minutes

If you are new to my page, feel free to read this article that I wrote explaining what it is and what are the benefits here. Simply put, I walked at 3.5MPH for 20 minutes. I was shooting for 30-35 Minutes until Spencer showed up and took over. If you still don’t really get LISS - here’s a video of me doing LISS. Honestly, I take this time to answer my comments on steemit.

IMG_1606.jpg


Warm Up/Hip Mobility

I used to get a lot of hip pain while squatting, I always wondered why until I got my personal training license. I found out that I had tight hips which can lead to pain in the hips and back pain. So after learning about this I make sure I do my fair share of hip mobility before or after leg day. You can read more about the importance of hip mobility here.


Exercise #1) Dumbbell Squats x12

Start off with your feet a bit further than shoulder width apart. For this exercise I’m using two 15lb dumbbells, make sure to adjust this weight according to your fitness level. Rest the dumbbells on your shoulders so that they are parallel to the floor and perpendicular to your body. All you are going to do is squat down, remember token all the weight in your heels, drive your knees out and squeeze the glutes when coming up. Repeat.

Exercise #2) ‘Box’ Jumps x12

It’s always good to had a high intensity body weight exercise into your weight training routine. Start facing the bench with your feet shoulder width apart, then jump up on to the bench with both feet. Start with a height that is suitable for you. Once you are up on the bench in a low squatting position stand up, don’t forget to squeeze the glutes and come down safely with one leg at a time. Repeat.


Exercise #3) Dumbbell Deadlifts x12

Start with your feet should width apart and two dumbbells in your hand. When you are going down make sure to keep the dumbbells as close to your legs as possible. Once you feel a stretch in your hamstrings come up at the same pace you went down with. Bring the dumbbells back to your sides while you squeeze those glutes. Repeat.

(I made a little booboo, my neck wasn’t in line with my back)


Exercise #4) Hip Thrusts x15

The kind of booty exercises are the one and only hip thrusts! Start by sitting in front of the bench and placing the weight on your hips. Then prop your elbows onto the bench, make sure that your feet are shoulder width apart. Once you are in this position, life with your glutes and grab the weight so that it doesn’t slip. For added umph in the glutes, only have your heels on the floor and have your toes pointed up. Make sure to squeeze the glutes. Repeat.


Exercise #5) Incline Pushups x20

Yes, yes I know this isn’t a lower body workout. But I always usually include some pushups because I’m working on my upper body strength. So please, if you don’t feel like doing these, don’t. I just felt wrong not including this into my post. For those (like me) that cant do more than 5 regular push-ups I recommend starting with an incline pushup. Place hands on edge of bench or platform, slightly wider than shoulder width. Position forefoot back from bench or platform with arms straight and your knees resting on the ground. Arms should be perpendicular to body. Push up until arms are extended. Repeat.


Repeat 3x

IMG_1607.jpg


And that all folks, remember to cool down. Now that I’m done editing this, time to hit the bed and power up for tomorrow!

Thank you all for watching/reading,
Jane 💪🏼

Sort:  

Good warm up. Nice exercises. I like the music too! Makes you feel like a bad ass! I like you how post the calories burned too, how did you know how much they burned?

Cheers from Fitness Guy

I guess I will start with the warm-up and hip mobility every morning. Thanks for trying to help me keep in shape.

Sweeet, if you click on the link I have a better mobility flow that you can incorporate :) its more full body if you are interested. Thank you!

Awww feel better!!!

Haha I've been so sick prone since I've joined steemit haha
thank you!!

Nice post!Please checkout my page!👍

Hey @polajane this is awesome work out. You received 100% upvote from @ gangas. Happy weekend.

ahhh that's the worst! I was traveling with a cold for a while. Finally just recovered.

Ahhh im glad you're feeling better, thats no fun!! Especially because there is so much to do na you cant really full rest.

I make little booboo all the time!We are not perfect:))great workout💪

great post! very usefull exercises. keep spreading health and tips about fitness :)
you are amazing.

Congratulations @paolajane! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great workout. I'm going to give it a go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74