holofit update #2

in #fitness6 years ago

Physiotherapists are remarkable individuals with unrealistic expectations of what can be done with the standard human anatomy. As I've posted about previously, my piriformis muscle gives me grief due to exceptionally tight hamstrings (you could probably play them like a violin, given the correct bow), or alternatively, use them to fire arrows at wild boar.

In any case, Lauren, my pysiotherapist did a remarkable job at explaining the tightness in my lower back and the (former) pain in my arse[ass] (for you Americans!) As a result of this lack of pain, and education about the once unreasonable things that my human anatomy couldn't achieve; I've never, in years of going to the gym, felt so positive about my progress.

I've been training five times a week, with HIIT cardio being performed on each occasion I visit the gym. This has been accompanied with resistance and weight training, mostly in super sets, with minimal rest in between.

So what is HIIT?

High Intensity Interval Training. Imagine this, you do something quite vigorously for 30 seconds, then you rest for 15 seconds, or do it less vigorously. Then, you repeat this. The end result is the body doesn't really get into a single metabolic phase, and your heart rate ramps up with each interval. It has had strong research that indicates it aids in rapid weight loss, versus sustained effort over a longer duration.

It probably sounds painful, and that's what exercise can be. But then, there's the reward of endorphins, and seeing you progress. This week, I hit one such target, and I'm recording it here as a baseline, in order to break it in the future.

First, I do a five minute warm up, then I embark into intervals, until I've covered two kilometres.

Today, I covered two kilometres in thirteen minutes and thirty five seconds. It's something to be proud of. Photographic evidence follows:

20180614_202120.jpg

Mass Update

Last time, weighing in on the scales at the gym, I tipped them at 112.5KG. These obviously have a different calibration than the scales I've got at home. I've got my next gym scales weigh in next week. This week, however, my home scales indicate that I've lost 3.5KG since the 11th of May. That's not bad for a month. 750 grams per week.

I'll make another update after weighing in on the gym scales.

Nutrition

You can't out train a bad diet, and you have to eat as "clean as possible" my nutrition plan is split over days that I go to the gym and don't go. It doesn't mean I have to eat bland things, either. Here's what I had for lunch today.

Brown rice, tomato, mushroom, seasoned with rosemary, and steamed greens, along side a slab of dead salmon from the waters of Tasmania, Australia.

I'm envisioning @choogirl shaking her head at the fact that there are animal products on my plate, but I make no apology. She'll continue to shake her head as we move onto the table of nutrition to come below.

At least I'll be eating a lot more vegetables, and a lot more salad. I tend to eat a fair chunk of veggies, but typically, am not a fan of salad.

The Food Plan

BreakfastLunchDinner
Training Day1/3 cup of Oats, Banana or Berries, Protein ShakeLean Meat (Turkey, Chicken, Salmon, Tuna or Prawns) Brown Rice, VegetablesLean Meat, Salad
Non Training DayProtein Shake, Piece of FruitLean Meat, Veggies or Salad, Handful of Unsalted NutsLean Meat, Veggies or Salad

I'm just over a month into doing things at the gym, and other than a little bit of overcrowding owing to the time I frequent the gym, I'm enjoying my time, and most importantly, staying injury free. Discipline regarding food is going to be my biggest challenge. I kind of wish that I had a consistent, regular training partner, but the guitar riffs of Machinehead, and the lovely lyricism of Florence and the Machine fix that for now.

Sort:  

Salmon is a great source of protein. Tuna a lot better though.
But it's all subject to taste and what you'll actually eat over the long term.

Myfitnesspal is great for tracking calories. It has the biggest database of foods and has a barcode scanner for easy tracking. The hard part is being honest. I have it linked to Runkeeper so it can track my exercise calories as well.

The hardest part is not shoving junk into my mouth! :D

I'll continue to see results so long as I remain consistent and determined. You won't recognise me at the next steem meet!

Wow, I hope that's the case. Consistency is most definitely the key.
The idea is to be able to stick with the diet range (change it up every so often so it's not boring) and to continue at the gym.

Nothing as satisfying as seeing and feeling results from hard work! Nicely done. I am also trying to stay fit and lean which is a challenge in winter. On cold days all I want to do is eat! Keep strong man

It's winter here at the moment as well - it makes it hard to eat salad when all you want is roasted, fatty foods, and potatoes.

Lucky, I love seafood, and chicken, turkey, and there are numerous ways to cook all this stuff without dousing it in sauces. Refined sugars are the killer!

I've never been "lean", but this is the most confident I've ever been about staying injury free, and seeing a trend of continious improvement in performance.

Don't have to tell me about Winter. I went for a run at 7pm last night in Johannesburg...dark and about 5 deg. Not pleasant :)

Being injury free and being able to push yourself is just the best. Last night was my first run in about 2 months without knee pain! Only 6km but it just felt good.

I tip my hat, sir. I've hated cardio since the Army; and for good reason.
I'll lift weights, and I'll diet, but never cardio.

It's over in a flash - but the weight lifting component is certainly the more fun element.

Mate, do whatever you want. I learnt a long time ago that trying to convince someone of something who doesn't want want to be convinced, is a fool's errand.

Don't hold back on the shitty stuff altogether, though. One day you'll crave chocolate and wind up dousing an entire block. Feel free to have the occasional treat. Unless you're finding fruit to be good enough to satisfy those cravings, which is also good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17