Movement May Challenge 👣

in #fitnation6 years ago

may.jpg

This month I joined the Movement May challenge created by @aussieNinja! Check out the introduction post, there is still time to get involved.

I’m part of blue team moving 100km (62.5miles). While any self propelled movement counts I decided to only include my runs as I would likely hit the distance by accident if including cycling.

St the start of May I had also decided to scale back my distances (oops) to make sure I wasn’t about to run into an injury. I have a tendency to get too excited and run too far, too fast, too often the triple combo that’ll take out any runner. Not the best timing but I'm making it work.

Week 1 ~12miles

1st - 4.9miles 8:28mi
2nd - x
3rd - 2.1miles 8:46/mi
4th - x
5th - x
6th - 2miles 7:30/mi
7th - 2.9miles 7:43/mi

Week 2 ~12miles

8th - 2miles 7:29/mi
9th - x
10th - x
11th - 3.3miles - 7:32/mi
12th - 3.2miles - 8:45/mi
13th - x
14th - Today (will run ~3miles this evening)

We're nearly half way through the challange and I've currently only ran ~38% of my distance. This is pretty much planned as I wanted to offset a larger percentage of the distance to later into the challange to work up the miles more slowly. Aiming for 17miles in week three and smash out the remaining distance in the final week.

This will be my biggest running month since January 🙌

I've been using Vibram five fingers and Vivobarefoot on and off for years but also run in 'regular' running shoes when clocking up longer distances. Saturday I decided to take off my shoes completely and ran barefoot for 1.5miles, it was amazing. Going to working towards running longer distances completely barefoot miles going forward.

Keep running ✌️

p.s I'm on Strava too if that's your thing.

Sort:  

Well done Sam!

When you run barefoot, do you run on tarmac roads, or do you have a trail, what is your track like exactly? I'm super keen to try, but I'm also totally scared of it too.

With my Spartan race coming up in a couple of months, I'm getting some Trail Runners to cope with the mud and rocks and everything, but they'll also have more of a sole than I'm used to. Not sure how I feel about all that to be honest...

Thanks dude.

When I ran barefoot it's on grass, just fields in the local park. I tried fully barefoot on one of the barky trails but felt risky. I don't mind running on tarmac that much with the Vibrams, 5k or less. I feel long distances probably are not a great plan, at-least without very slowly working up to it. (that's why I have regular runners). Find some grass and give it a try, your feet knows what to do.

As for the new trail runners, it takes a while to get used to running in traditional shoes again. I felt uneasy at first but now think a balance between using both styles where they're suited is best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85