LETS GO FISHING

in #fishing6 years ago

Fishing is a great activity for everyone in your family. The best part is that it is an an outdoor activity. Can you remember those days before everyone was plugged in a good part of the day. Those days go right along with getting out of your chair to switch the channel of TV, sitting in the rear of the family station wagon sitting backwards, carrying a brown bag with lunch in it to school, looking over your shoulder to see if an adult was around before saying shit, listening to THE NEW YORK YANKEES on your little portable radio, saying please, thank you, your welcome, and God bless you without hesitation. We live in such a busy time and I am thankful for all the conveniences of this time period, but there is something to be said for THE GOOD OLD DAYS ! Fishing does that for me, it turns back the hands of time, especially when I am fishing with my kids and grandchildren.

()

Back in the day, I had just moved to a new town and hit it off with a kid around the block. We had many common interests and one of them was fishing. He showed me a way to get worms that is quit unique. Not only is it neat it is also fool proof. In the picture above you can see where I have marked certain spots with little wooden sticks. These little mounds will appear right after it has rained. Right alongside these sticks you can see a raised area. Well guess what, beneath that little mound is a night crawler hole.

There it is. To expose the hole, gently remove the mound.

TOOLS OF THE TRADE. These are the items I use. 1 cup with dirt to put the worms in, 1 cup of water to rinse the worms off in, the little wooden picks to mark the holes, 1 bottle to store the solution in, and the key ingredient is COLMAN'S powered MUSTARD. Mix 1 TBS of mustard to about 3 pints of water and shake vigorously.

Pour the mix down the hole and if their is a night crawler down there, he will be coming up. You want to rinse him off right away otherwise he is fried. Put the worm in the cup with the dirt and go fishing. Oh, great idea, I think I'll go.

Our pond, let's go catch the lunker!

Lunker in hand. All the fish you view in this post are Small Mouth Bass. You can tell by their pointed snoot. Large Mouth Bass have a more rounded snoot. The one in my hand weighs around 2 lbs. We always catch and release. Besides the bass you see, the pond is also home to Yellow Perch, Blue Gill (Sunnies), Rock Bass, and every kids favorite, the salamander.

This Ma Ma probably weighs around 3.5 lbs. You can see from her distended underside, she in going to be laying eggs soon. Just a little gruesome fact, bass do eat their young. My buddy in the pic is Oliver. I am not sure what breed he is, my daughter knows. Special dog, what a companion. He is just her for a weeks vacation while my daughter is on vacation. I wonder who is having a better time?

I WISH!! Nope, not me, not that lucky. Maybe one day I will be able to join my good friend on one on his back woods fishing adventures in Montana. That's right, what the hell am I waiting for? I'am retired!

The guy in this picture is my son and best friend @ryan313 and my beautiful granddaughter @ajbasketball3. When it comes to steemit, he is my mentor. When it comes to crypto he is at the top of his game, give him and aj basketball a quick look. Hope you enjoyed the post.

Sort:  

Hey great stuff. Smiling! Those worms don't stand a chance! Its amazing at first glance that look just like Mya but its Ava!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06