Weather bad but good daysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fishing5 years ago

The weather was suppose to get bad today, and it did, but was suppose to be nice this morning and a cold front coming through later in the day. I think they lost the front, because when I put my boat over this morning it was already blowing about 15 out of the northeast. I debated on going back home but decided, I was already there and 15 is nasty but fishable. So off I go, blubbering across the river. I got to Melvas Island and skipped a fish, so I anchored and after 30 min I caught a 3 and 1/2 pound pompano, but that is all I caught there. I moved back in Turtle pen sleuth, it is out of the wind. Little pompano were skipping and I anchored but could not fish because of the catfish. I got 2 rods out and had 2 catfish on the first rod, got them off and the other rod had catfish. I was not in the mood to deal with them so I left there. By this time it is blowing over 20 knots and it was hard to stand up in my boat. But I am stubborn, I was there and I was going to fish. I moved around and finally found some fish that I could catch I ended up catching 15 pompano that weighed 23 pounds, they were little fish but legal size, I threw 8 back that were to small. It was also drizzling rain
IMG_20190312_143547.jpg
I wasn't to happy but I stayed IMG_20190312_174141.jpg
I also caught 2 whiting, I do not know why they are called whiting when they are brown in color. Up north they call them kingfish, to us a kingfish is a king mackeral. IMG_20190312_182341.jpg
And I caught what we call a spot, but a lot of people call them butterfish, they really don't bite a hook but I have caught them before but not many. IMG_20190312_182337.jpg
This is my whole catch for today IMG_20190312_182326.jpg
When I got to the fish house a crabber was there putting his live crabs in the tanks IMG_20190312_182515.jpg

Sort:  

Oh wait, they have to be from a certain weight and size so you can sell em? I didn't knew! :o

@blacklux yes, here in Fl there are not many kinds of fish that do not have some sort of law or size limit. I can only think of 2 and they are not caught on a hook, so most people do not even know they exist. They are pogies and spots. Trout season will start May 1, we can not keep one under 15in or over 24in. And we can only catch them May to Sept.

Well you made an income which is better as a cold, wet day and just catching a cold.

Have a look at @axeman his landscape/seascape contest. You have plenty of pictures and stories going with them. Just mention the contest and leave your link as a comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty I followed @axeman but only saw a contest that ended 19 hours ago. Maybe I can catch the next one he does.

I think he does one a week which ends on Thursdays.

You have plenty of pictures so you can always join one.

I make a list of it

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello. !!!
You definitely are a determined stubborn woman. ..!!! 😊
😯 Looks cold and dreary. Thank goodness you had a warm jacket on board..!!!
:D

@annephilbrick hahahaha stubborn or stupid or both, that is me. That is my sleekers I am wearing, aka foul weather gear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23