Sort:  

Oh yeah I learned all about the portage when we went fly in fishing in northern Ontario back in the mid 70's. I was 10 years old and loved to steer that 6hp Johnson. Many of the people went for lake trout, but we preferred northern pike. Fun times!

I'm glad to hear you also like the northern pike. There are a lot of good pike in that lake.

The problem is I didn't have fishing gear and I'm not going to risk losing borrowed lures in the reeds because inevitably I'll lose them.

No one cares if I lose hooks and worms going for bass.

Both are very fun to fish for because even the medium guys hit hard.

I agree, going for lake trout is usually boring. Bottom rigs and trolling back and forth. There isn't action until there is a lot of action. I feel the same with Walleye (you may call them pickerel). Only the big, rare fish are fun.

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.914 which ranks you at #4438 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 94 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I used to be an avid Carp fisherman here years ago my friend. Caught some nice big carps and always released them. But fishing has become dangerous over here as criminals steal your equipment at night and in daylight they would rob you at gunpoint. My brother in law was almost killed and lost everything, all of his equipment and his car. They even took his shoes.
So, no more fishing for me.

You have a great post here and who worries about the comforts of non leaking boats when there is an abundance of fish to be caught.
Blessings!
Ps! Glad that my small vote could pump your upvotes into the $3 dollar market my friend!

Carp fishing is also popular in Korea. Canadians and Americans are really trying to keep carp out of the internal lakes because they may cause damage.

I'm sorry to that fishing is so dangerous in South Africa. In Canada, we left the keys in the large boat while fishing the back lake in the smaller boat. Cottages on the lake will often get broken into during winter, but only when no one is around for awhile.

Thanks for the vote!

Glad it is still relatively safe on your side!
My pleasure.
Have a great weekend.
Blessings...

I did not know that the fishermen needed to use two boats)) Although the text is quite logical.

Actually in many cases, fishermen will use one boat but two engines. There is a large gasoline-powered engine on the back meant for scooting across the lake and a smaller electric motor on the font used for maneuvering around while fishing. The small electric motor is much quieter which just makes things more pleasant and doesn't scare off all the fish. Also it pulls rather than pushes the boat which improves control.

Okay wow. That is quite the adventure. I love the fact that you haul a motor and oars around! This was a great read, @abitcoinskeptic. The little points of pride and honor really add a touch of delight. 😁

haha, yeah I had a lot of fun that day. There are places in Korea where you literally sit in a bar and fish in a swimming pool, it's sad. I prefer to do it properly.

Congratulations @abitcoinskeptic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You catch looks amazing! I would love to steam them instead of fried them!!

Thanks! I actually rarely eat fried fish. Someone else was cooking. I prefer to eat all my fish raw, but those were lake fish so maybe grilled with pepper and lemon.

Ah true, maybe cooked fish is better as you said.

Guys at the office has been talking about fishing but never materialized. I really enjoyed your fishing post. So cool to have boats there for anyone to use. Those are some big ones you got there and the fish sticks looks so delicious. Matches best with a cold beer after that fishing trip.

Haha, we were drinking while fishing. I actually ate the fish sticks for breakfast and I usually don't drink beers at that time.
I hope you do end up going on a fishing trip. The boat people use at the lakes are really old. Generally they are left by the resort owners because then they can rent out the small engines. Some of the cottagers leave them too because if you think hauling a small engine is heavy and annoying, try hauling an entire boat.

What a great day! I thought you were going to list "bring lots of good beer" with that list of things to keep in mind to go fishing!

I actually didn't drink a lot of beer while fishing in the back lake because there was a lot of action. However, if the fishing is boring (not catching anything), then maybe I'll drink because at least I can catch a buzz.

I understand and agree sir abitcoinskeptic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87