You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diario di Bordo / Logbook - Finish the Story Contest 35

While one might take it as some secret anti-pirate propaganda piece, this goes beyond good and evil. As my prompt secretly coughed that the pirate’s interests where at threat and neither side being the good or bad, the diary entry really completes that cough and repaints the prompt. As to suggest the prompt was a mental diary while this is the mere physical diary on the other side. To that, I like that aspect.

To go further, I like how the Cap’n does have his wonders and moral interpretations. The Cap’n indeed is living in the phemenon of golden-age pirating; which is having major effects in the rising global economy and politics. But more-so that it chooses to treat them as human beings and not nusiances. Thus this ending could serve as a striking docx of its time (without the Young New English accent of course) and one that attempts to take a materialist approach. With such, it also reminds the reader of the immediacy of life with the cannon shots and ongoing battle.

Thus, though a conscious pro-Empire leaning. This is an unconscious damning of the current material conditions and societies, even if the Cap’n has no way to figure out how to effectively change it. Aye, I buy rum for that. Upvot’d and resteem’d.

5C90DAB4-7527-4C39-A8EA-F2E4E9A88EF6.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for the extensive critic to my little effort! I very appreciate it!
When I read your first part, I was worried, because I knew I couldn't reproduce the "Young New English accent", or as I call it "pirate slang". I'm not so fluent in English to dare such a task, I'm barely able to read it (and, I take this opportunity to say your lexicon, sir, is very difficult for me to understand, in many of your creative writings...but I keep trying!)
Another thing that has happened is that I started to write my part without having the slightest idea of where to go, and to kill the time during this Sunday, while I'm going through a period of difficulty in my love life, so instinctively putting me against pirates, in a certain sense, comes from my "feeling against" in general right now...

Well you certainly cooked a good story here, keep on stirring!
Stirrin'.GIF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81