Filmmaker’s Diaries - End of November !

in #filmmakersdiaries4 years ago

Hello and welcome to another Filmmaker’s diary! - 30 November 2019

Can not, but can not believe tomorrow we will be in the last month of the year.

So I've been back from the mini holidays for some time now... it was great and relaxing, just what I needed.

Writing

Since I've been back I've been seriously writing. Almost every day and some time per day as well. Usually a block of 2 hours... that's pretty good, none of that "one hour" before I got to work, that sometimes it becomes 20 minutes. For a long time I've been writing (when possible) in this "everyday/ do the work" frame. And it is a good one, but think that two hours is the sweep spot for such practise.

Then this last days also had an important moment. This Steven Pressfield type of approach is good but it had taken me a way a bit of the other style of "inspiration" . A few days ago, I wrote in the evening (normally, I've been doing it in the morning) and had one of those moments were you just get into he pure state of flow and the words were just coming out, making it a better draft.

All this to say... I believe the "Art of War" style o writing is very important, so I'm really trying to get 2H/ day (in the morning) to write everyday. And then get back to write in the evening, with nothing else on the agenda for the evening and just be able to loose myself in it. I'll be doing that as much as possible as well...

Still on the writing topic, last month I sent my script to be proof read... the first time I did. Got it back with some notes and so on... Then last week I saw that there is this nice screenwriting competition happening, in the horror genre. Yes, that proof read short script is an horror one. And yes, I will be sending it, my first attempt at a screen writing competition. The deadline is today, so I should finish this diary entry and go do one last pass at the thing before sending it.
May you all have a great weekend.

As always, thank you for reading.

By Upvoting this post you are helping independent artist!!

If you like this, you can see the previous diaries for more reference:

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-09-11-2019

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/5y4t4z-filmmaker-s-diaries

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-that-upload

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-july-update

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-thunder-and-the-mafia

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-drones-ads-and-chilling

Word Logo- croped.png

Photos (except Logo) from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 156 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awesome! Nice to have you back and to read that you haven't been sitting still last month. It seems like you have been doing something similar to me. Did I inspire you? ;>)

I also read and listened to ( audio book ) The Art of War, a couple of years ago and found out, last month, that an hour or two of writing ( max ) is my thing. I don't want to feel bad though when I skip a day. Things should not feel too forced. If something doesn't feel fun and making changes ( to your approach ) doesn't help, something is clearly off. We should always take negative signals ( feelings ) as a sign that something is not right.

Btw, that horror screenplay contest reminds me of partaking in something similar, 10 years ago, in Spain. I wrote a screenplay based on the story of "El Chupacabra". Never heard anything back ( think it was a Mexican contest ) but it was fun to do anyway.

Let's try to meet up in January. I feel 2020 is gonna be an awesome and very creative year :>)

Um abraço

Hey, yeah felling bad is indeed not good. It is like adding extra stress to your life. But in general I like to write everyday, it just gets me going. And yeah 2H for me as well hehhe. Plus some extra motivation when it's right.

Should write a short about that festival... the one who doesn't reply heheh

Yeh, I do have a good felling for 2020!! Hope it is great for everyone!!!

Abraço

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62