You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Horror Review: John Carpenter's Halloween (1978)

in #film5 years ago

If I had known this movie was a total rip-off, I wouldn't have watched it a dozen of times... Seriously!

All kidding aside, I love the originality behind this review. If I wouldn't have studied film history and weren't into horror, I might have believed that your description was actually pretty accurate ( it is, in a way, just a different reading of the plot, I guess haha).

Man, I love this movie for so many reasons; cinematography ( especially the POV's ), sound design, plot ( pretty original for its time ), the suspense, the horror, its scream queens and so on and so forth. I even love Donald Pleasance ( always a pleasure ) and the trailer. I'm sure the same goes for you.

I must have watched this during a number of Halloween's, even though we don't celebrate this day in The Netherlands, let alone in Portugal.

Sort:  

Donald Pleasance is a delight no matter what he's in, but the films he worked on with John Carpenter, especially this one and Prince of Darkness, are just top-notch examples of the actor and his craft.

I was only a year old when Halloween came out in theaters, but a few years ago a local cinema did a screening of it on Halloween night. My wife and her best friend and I all went and saw it, and we had a blast. It's incredible how well it holds up forty years later. And that soundtrack...it's so unfair that one guy was so damn good at writing, directing, producing, and scoring, and from such a young age! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65266.27
ETH 2639.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84