You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Molecules to Movies: Wargames (1983)

in #film6 years ago

I haven't seen it, I'll look for it online :).

I think our thoughts on AI have definitely changed, as we now endup letting computers do a lot of stuff instead of us. Hollywood tried to make the fear of AIs grew, which is really wrong in my opinion. I think AI was created for helping... Or maybe I'm just another robot with AI? Who knows!

It looks great for a retro-movie night, and everything with Mathew Broderick is for sure fun :).

Cheers!

Sort:  

I think the fear in Hollywood stems from the same fear that robots will replace us. The AI in Wargames is not as malevelant as that seen in the Terminator series. It doesn't try to intentionally destroy all humans.I guess it just raises the question of whether cold calculations can ever replace human decisions that take emotional responses into account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48