100 Films to Watch Before Going to Film School - HELP WANTED!

in #film7 years ago (edited)

If all things go to plan, around this time next year I’ll be shipping off to study film at university.

I feel a little under prepared as a film buff in relation to my future peers and so I decided to start a little project for myself, ‘100 Films to Watch Before Going to Film School’, catchy title eh?


Now this is where you come in, I’d like some help in compiling a list of films that I need to see of the most pivotal movies in film history, ones that for example may have changed the game all together or are simply just a must watch.

I’ll then watch them, and post a review once or twice a week. So hopefully by the time I’m off, I’ll have my very own list and be able to hold my own in discussions!

Time period is no barrier, nor language, nor is genre (although I do tend to favour comedies over action). So let loose!

Here's a few I have seen;

  • A special screening of Apocalypse Now with a Q&A afterwards featuring the one and only Walter Murch (and then met him AND SHOOK HIS HAND AND ASKED HIM A QUESTION) so that’s pretty cool in my book.
  • All the Star Wars franchise
  • Every Edgar Wright film/series (except his very first film)
  • Every Wes Anderson
  • A few Tarantinos such as Pulp Fiction and Django Unchained

I could list the films that I’ve seen for ages but perhaps it’s best I tell you a few of which I haven’t (a little shamefully, I’ll admit).

I have yet to see films such as;

  • The Godfather(s)
  • Battleship Potemkin
  • Reservoir Dogs
  • Any Kill Bill(s)
  • Any of the Scream franchise
  • Nosferatu, Metropolis
  • I never finished the Lord of the Rings or Hobbit franchises…

Okay wow I really need to watch more films.

So in the words of a very bad-ass space lady, “Help me, fellow Steemians. You’re my only hope.” or something like that anyways ;) Join me on this quest!

Thanks for reading my post! If you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments below, I’ll credit you when I use your film in my future posts!

Sort:  
Loading...

Some of my favorite films include Blade Runner (1982) and Drive (2011). I would also recommend watching some Kubrick films which include:

2001: A Space Odyssey
Dr. Strangelove
The Shining
A Clockwork Orange

Since you are into comedies, have to recommend Blazing Saddles and Airplane as some influential comedies.

Good luck in your pursuit of film!

Thanks for your help! I recently watched Drive on a whim thanks to Netflix and I really liked it. Thankfully I've also watched 2001: A Space Odyssey in the past, although I should definitely give it a re-watch.

Nice! I went to school for theatre though I wanted to go for film but couldn't afford it. I don't watch much anymore though so I don't have many suggestions, sorry! Best of luck!

Thanks for commenting! ^_^ I'm sorry to hear you weren't able to study what you wanted to, I hope you still enjoyed studying theatre though.

Congratulations @mivstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33