Movie Review: Gold (2016)

in #film7 years ago

Over the weekend I had the pleasure of watching the film "Gold". 

I had been wanting to watch this film for some time but don't really get to get out much to the theater because of the little one, so much of my film watching has to wait till it comes out at Redbox.

To the Film...

"Gold" is a 2016 American drama/adventure film based upon the true story of Bre-X mining. If you are not familiar with the Bre-X story, you can read about it here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bre-X

If you haven't noticed yet with my other reviews, I especially like to stick with movies based on true stories. I tend to find those that much more interesting, although I do make exceptions from time to time. 

Cast:

The film has a solid cast headlined by Matthew McConaughey. Other notable cast members include:

Edgar Ramirez

Bryce Dallas Howard

Corey Stoll

Tobey Kebbell

Craig T. Nelson

Stacy Keach

Bruce Greenwood

Plot:

The film starts by introducing us to Kenny Wells (McConaughey), a long time prospector that has been struggling in the years following his father's death to both cope and make money. 

Seven years after his father's death, he is nearly broke and is struggling to find anyone to back his mining ideas. 

That all changes when, in a dream one night, Wells has a vision. A vision of a massive gold deposit located in the heart of Indonesia. In a place so remote that only a few could even mine the area. Luckily for him he thinks he knows one of those such men he thinks might be able to mine the area...

Wells pawns off the rest of his valuables to afford a plane ticket to go meet this man. Michael Acosta is the name of the man he is looking for. 

After some major persuading, Wells convinces Acosta to go with him and take a look at this land from his dream. Acosta reluctantly agrees to go see what is out there. 

Upon finding some ground that Acosta thinks might be worth mining, he signs on to be a full partner with Wells. 

As the mining operation begins to unfold, it is looking like the ground has very little gold in it. This is not good news as this is likely the last shot Wells has at striking it rich. 

After the disappointments pile up and the two men are running low on resources, their luck changes and they hit a hot streak. 

Upon further examination this hot streak looks like something bigger than anything they could have hoped for... This one find alone could be enough to make their families rich for several generations to come. 

The story really starts to begin at this point. I won't go into any more details though in case you haven't seen the film yet. 

Reception:

The film has received mixed reviews from critics and regular viewers alike. 

Rotten Tomatoes gives the film an approval rating of 42%. Their critical consensus reads:

"Gold boasts an impressively committed performance from Matthew McConaughey, but it's just one glittering nugget in an otherwise uneven heap of cinematic silt."

IMDB rates the film slightly better at a 6.7/10. Indicating that the general audience appreciated it slightly more than the critics. 

Metacritic gave the film a 49 out of 100 rating.  

Financially, the film has been a major disappointment. With a budget of over $20 million, it has only grossed around $10 million to date. Perhaps streaming and Redbox rentals will help soften the blow once those numbers start to roll in. 

My Review:

Before watching this movie I hadn't heard of Bre-X mining or the controversy that surrounded them. I just knew that the film starred a great actor and had a very interesting story line, at least from what I could tell on the previews.

After watching the film I can honestly say that the story was very different than what I was expecting. Actually, to put it more bluntly, the twist in the film came completely out of left field. 

I won't say exactly what that twist was because many reading this likely have never seen the film. Lets just say the less you know going in, the better it will be.

As far as the film itself, I thought it was just ok.

It had a great story to build around and it had a great actor. One of my favorite's actually. However, they weren't really able to fully take advantage of all the good things it had going for it. The story was a bit hard to follow at times and the twist came so far out of left field that perhaps that needed to be set up slightly better to help the story flow better.

McConaughey was a major bright spot in the film. His commitment to the role was outstanding. I can't tell you how many times the Mrs. kept commenting how McConaughey had really let himself go and how old he was getting... then we saw him in a commercial right after the film and it turns out that the physical transformation was strictly for the role he was playing.

Well done Matthew.

Overall, I would rate the film as a 7/10.

It's not as bad as the critics would have you believe, but it really wasn't that great either. Which was unfortunate because it had such an interesting and true story that it was based off of. 

In my opinion it is worth the watch, but much better to see this one streaming online or as rental from Redbox. Seeing it in the theater might leave one a bit disappointed. 

Have you seen the film? What did you think?

Let me know in the comments section below.

Live well my friends!

Sources:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gold_(2016_film)

Image Sources:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1800302/mediaindex?ref_=tt_pv_mi_sm

Follow me: @jrcornel

Sort:  

i will check it out

For some reason I have always been a fan of Matthew McConaughey. I will be sure to watch this on redbox or once it is on Netflix.

Alright alright alright! ;)

Some of the commercials he is in are a little odd, but I enjoy them nevertheless

They are pretty funny! They made my brother go out and get a car like that... lol :)

Is it on Kodi?

Haha I am not sure... what is Kodi?

That is Awesome!!

We watched a true story based movie last week that you might like - "The Founder" - fascinating - and that Ray Kroc guy was pure evil...

Is that out already?

Yes - and it's out on DVD now too - very good, highly recommended

http://www.dvdsreleasedates.com/movies/7891/the-founder

I remember the previews for this... I have been wanting to see it!

You will like the FOUNDER movie dude!

It wasn't made into a movie, but the story behind "Burts Bee's" is somewhat similar. I think its just a documentary.

Cool - I'll suss that out - I actually use the lip balm!

http://www.burtsbees.co.nz/natural-products/lips-lip-care/

I will have to check this out. Have you seen ,," the big short?"

I have... that is a great one. I really liked it. What about you?

I thought it was cool I love movies about wealth.

Same here. I am really into finance and stock trading and investing. Both of these movies were right in my wheel house!

I liked your story on film! I want to see. Thank you for the recommendation!

Hope you like it!

I have seen it and would reccomend it, I would give it 4 out or 5 stars :)

That seems like a pretty good rating. That is right about where I would put it as well. :)

It's a cool movie! :)

Glad you liked it! Crazy story huh?!

Yeah, and the ending was gold too :D I realized something after watching the movie (SPOILER ALERT)...
Don't you think that all people who are going to be disgraced very soon are awarded with some shiny statuette first? Like the "secret club", or the illuminati is giving a wink? I can give you more examples from real life and movies: The photographer from "The bang-bang club" for that photo with the vulture and the kid; The journalist from "Kill The Messenger" - they both got Pulitzer. And I can give you one more example from my country - a banker by the name Cvetan Vasilev - receveid "Banker of the year" award. Next year his bank - the Bulgarian KTB gone bust. And now he's hiding somewhere in Serbia :D. Idk, maybe it is my conspiracy theorist's mind ;)

Haha I am not sure about all that... but I do know that people will do just about anything for fame and fortune... especially for a lot of fame or fortune!

I liked it! I want to see. Thank you for the recommendation!

Good move..

Great movie!! The wife and I saw it in theaters and I whole heartedly agree that the less you know going into it, the better! I did NOT see that twist coming!

Yea I didn't either.. I read about the true story it was based upon afterwards. It appears it was very loosely based off real events. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15