I Am (2018) A short film created by Jaundré M. van Breda

in #film5 years ago

"I took a deep breath
and listened to the old brag
of my heart.
I am, I am, I am."
-Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

This is one of my first short experimental films I created with my Huawei P20 Lite smartphone. The film is inspired by one of Sylvia Plath's most well-known quotes (seen above.) I also made use of two apps available on the Google App Store: CyberLink PowerDirector and Textgram.

I hope you like it!

Note: The spider was found with six legs. I didn't harm it in any way.


image

Sort:  

Man, what a great short film! You really should try to send it to 1 minute film festivals!

Thank you very much! I have a few others I'm working on.

Hi jmvanbreda,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Gosh, Juandre... you are super multi talented * ___ *

Lol, thank you Lise. I try my hand at anything.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Good to know the spider's okay.

word and image, I liked the way you make transitions, very expressive of life itself, a dream, the end, our death.

the fact that you have used a smartphone seems to me an extra point for this short film.

very well done, thank you for sharing

greetings

peace and love

Thank you very much! Smartphone filmmaking is really a unique way to express oneself.

That is so interesting for a one-minute film to convey mysterious messages in such a short time. I say mysterious because your narration sounded like on and I am still trying to decipher that "I am" message. It actually made me research for Sylvia Plath. I guess I have more reading to do here... I have a puzzle to solve. 😊

I think the quote could have multiple meanings. Anyway, I am thankful for your comment, lol.

Oh yeah, you are… 😂

I haven't done my further reading but I have been thinking about it. I think it is about the uniqueness of everyone and everything. It is like saying "I am what I am."

That's a brilliant perception.

This is interesting and experimental sounds like a perfect word to describe it. I like the dark scheme and I really enjoyed your voice. I could listen to it for much longer than one minute. I'm glad to hear that you didn't hurt the spider :) I wondered why it only had 6 legs :)

I like the quote that has inspired you as well.

Thank you for sharing! Congratulations on your curie vote and have a good weekend!

Thank you so much! Have a great weekend as well.

Awesome dude! I'm a filmmaker as well and love doing experimental stuff. I love the shot of the spider and you lighting up that cigarette. I like seeing these all black to bright to black shots back to back. It creates great contrast.

I've never heard the quote but what a bad ass one. Writing it down. It's really such an inspirational one, I think anyway. Like no matter what's going on upstairs in my head, that heart is beating, exists and you better do something with it.

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! Filmmaking is quite new to me, but I already love it. Maybe someday I'll shoot with a better camera, lol.

Everyone has to start somewhere! It's amazing that these days you can get access to a camera quite easily and usually with somewhat high quality for very cheap. Even what you had access to in this video is much more than I ever did when I was first doing short films and messing around with my friends. Keep at it and I'm sure you'll do great things. Cheers!

Interesting film, it is really very short, started like a horror movie really may be because of black and white and of course spider always associated with some mystery, horror things. Like the way you did it and how you came up in scene once the lighten up your cigarette and disappeared when the light was off. Good but you left the auditory in expectation of something :)

Thank you for your time to comment. Much appreciated.

Hah honestly...I'm not a big fan of these...tooo artistic films and stuff. Im well aware that I'm artistically absolutely illiterate haha :D In traditional sense...I do martial arts and programming...and nice code really is an art. But the traditional ones..dunno, I just feel people kinda started experimenting quite a lot and realized they can get away with it. Altho it requires much less work than some structured "classical" movie. Or? It's no offense to you, just my point of view.

Oh and maaan, I hated that spider soo much :D

Lol. You are certainly entitled to your opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77