Review of The Finest

in #film7 years ago

Sometimes when you go to the cinema some films hit you right in the heart, and The Finest is one of them.

It made me laugh and It will make people cry, but one thing it did do for me and that it made me proud to be British.

It stars Gemma Arterton, Sam Claflin, Bill Nighy,Richard E Grant,Helen Mc Crory and Rachael Stirling . All were excellent in their parts, however I thought Sam Claflin was outstanding.

It is London inn the 1940,s and while the blitz means no one is safe, Catrins life has hit one of those glorious periods of transition when you're never quite the same person again.

Shes been plucked from South Wales by her older artist lover ( He paints her into every painting but always very small) been installed in a suitably bohemian looking garret, and now one of her cartoon captions has caught the eye of Buckley(Claflin) a floppily good looking but drilly sardonic scriptwriter from the Ministry of Information's propaganda film department.

He wants to find someone who can write the slop and here starts the story as she is paid £2 pounds per week.

The performances she draws from her cast are exquisite and Claflin quietly dominates literally every scene

Helen Mc Crory is excellent as the sad but worldly spinster who steps into the breach when her agent brother is killed, but rising above them all is Bill Nighy as the simply perfect as the ageing, vain and immaculately dressed actor Ambrose Hilliard, who still thinks he should be up for the the romantic lead but is persuaded to take on a lesser role.

This is a lovely , charming period delight that I'm sure many will love

Image courtesy of .imdb.com

Sort:  

Hi Ian! If this is a good movie I will definitely go watch it. I have a week off so I have time to go see a movie or two!

Hi Yvette. We go to the movies every Sat and Sunday. This is very English but good. On the complete opposite I can recommend the new fast and furious film which was excellent with Vin Diesel

Hi Ian, good to know. I will see if I can find it anywhere to watch.....I saw the new fast and furious and I really enjoyed that. If you want to watch a good movie, you should watch Hidden figures. Really good movie.

Went to see it a few weeks ago but forgot to do a review. I agree it was excellent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29