Samurai Gourmet - A Netflix Series That Altered My Perception On EatingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #film7 years ago (edited)

We all know that feeling of hopping on to Netflix to try and find something to watch. Sometimes you spend more time looking for something VS actually watching it. Call it a luxury problem. A millennials dilemma. Or a baby booming complex of not being able to handle these extraordinary amounts of choices.

Carousel_SAMURAI-GOURMET_2800x1200.jpg
Samurai Gourmet a mini series on Netflix. Keep reading and it will make sense ; )

Social Aspect Of Food


If you follow me on Steemit, you probably know that I've stopped eating. If not, read this post. The last ten months have been one hell of an experience. I've learned a lot about nutrition and health. Besides that, I've come to learn so much about my self. Mostly positive things and skills I was unaware about before the 12 months 100% future food diet.

Before I started the diet, lots of people told me that they could not understand that I'd stopped taking part in such a social part of life; sharing meals with other people. I noticed that the social aspect did not change so drastically as people would expect. I still hang out with friends and have dinner or lunch with them. I cook for my son, and sometimes I feed the ducks in the park.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 22.16.14.png

I found that my future food diet, which consists of liquid meals made from powder and water and most of the time consumed from a plastic sports bottle, did not interrupt or altered my friendships and relations around me. Perhaps this has to do with the fact that I love conversation during meals. I'm attracted to intellect. I like to raise questions and wonder through hypothesis. For me, it doesn't matter what type of food I eat while doing so.

What I'm saying is that being social from my point of view has more to do with what we talk about than what we eat. At least that's whats been emphasized this year.

Cutting The Carrots


When I watched the first five episodes of Samurai Gourmet, I was instantly hooked on the simple story line and repetitive build up of the situation in each episode. It's a bit like a mantra. Nothing special or fancy and therefor more focused on the details.

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 00.52.59.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 23.24.43.png

The way the main character deals with food reminded me of an important thing about Japanese culture. The close relation with Zen philosophy. There is a sentence that comes to mind. It's from the documentary 'How To Cook Your Life' and goes as follows; When you cut the carrots, cut the carrots. This simple Zen teaching has always resonated with me. It's complicated to put this mantra to work because you'll notice that the mind starts wandering off.

89154982.jpg

I feel that the main character in Samurai Gourmet, Takeshi Kasumi is just cutting his carrots. And if you don't know what I mean perhaps it's best to watch the documentary mentioned above, 'How To Cook Your Life' It's hard to explain as often is the case with Zen teachings. You have to get into it through feeling rather than approaching it from a theoretical point of view.

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 00.52.51.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-23 at 01.38.47.png

Each episode is entangled in a life situation we all could relate too, making it very easy to digest. It reminds me a bit of children's educational TV shows but then for adults. If that makes any sense. The long sequences of how the food is prepared make me crave the food. The reaction of Takeshi Kasumi when he eats the food puts a smile on my face because I can see he is one with the meal.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 22.13.36.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-23 at 01.42.18.png

I guess that this series brings to life the Zen feeling that I long for in the relation I want to have with food. It's exactly what I'm looking forward to when it comes to eating again; Following my intuition and try to focus on what the food tries to tell me. The last ten months my food, how simplistic and anti natural it might have felt to some people around me, has told me that less is more. This attitude created so much peace of mind and focus that it allowed me to come closer to my true self. Let's see what going back to regular food will tell me about myself.


FF_Steemit_banner_03.jpg

Sort:  

wow. just discovered you on steemit. Are you really only drinking shakes for a year??

Yes sir! : D I'm approaching month 11

the food looks delicious, and very nice atmosphere there. @futurefood

I know, its a great series. I'm almost done watching the 12 episodes :(

I've learned a lot about nutrition and health. Besides that, I've come to learn so much about my self. Mostly positive things and skills I was unaware about before the 12 months 100% future food diet. @naz722

Really good post, noted to list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79